Black Magic Supply · Pre-workout
Is Black Magic Supply BZRK underdosed?
Below research dose on 1 of 3 key ingredients.
Betaine Anhydrous is below the amounts studies use. 3 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend.
- Effective dose
- 1
- Below research dose
- 1
- Hidden in a blend
- 3
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline DL-Malate [2:1]Per scoop 4.67 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 4.67 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.
ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
- Beta-O (Beta-Alanine, Orotic Acid)Per scoop 3.2 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.
- GlycerolLabel: GlycerPump (Glycerol, Powder) [65% Glycerol Powder]Per scoop 2.5 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 2.5 g. Not graded: studies used about 1–1.2 g per kg of bodyweight (75–90 g at 75 kg) with a large drink, to hold extra water before endurance exercise. Pre-workouts add 0.5–3 g of a 65% glycerol powder for "pumps"; we know of no study of amounts that small.
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 6 ingredients in the 1.62 g Possessed Matrix, it contains 270–1620 mg.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Caffeine [ZumXR extended-release caffeine 72%]Per scoop In a blendStudies 3–6 mg/kgHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd and 5th of 6 ingredients in the 1.62 g Possessed Matrix, its 2 forms together contain ≤810 mg. Studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Adhatoda vasaka Extract [1%]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Kola Nut Leaf Extract (Areca catechu Leaf Extract)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Huperzine ALabel: Huperzia serrata Leaf Extract (Huperzine A) [Huperzine A 1%]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setHidden in a blendEvidence: Not graded
Amount not disclosed. As the 6th of 6 ingredients in the 1.62 g Possessed Matrix, it contains ≤270 mg.
Contains 1 g; studies use 2.5 g/day. Betaine Anhydrous works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
- CognatiQ (Coffee Whole Fruit Extract)Per scoop 75 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- AstraGinLabel: AstraGin (Astragalus extract, Panax notoginseng extract)Per scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 50 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/6 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- L-Tyrosine · 1st270–1620 mg
- Caffeine · 2nd and 5th≤810 mg
- Huperzine A · 6th≤270 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 327394.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.