Omega-3 supplements
Omega-3 works through daily use over weeks, so what matters is how much you take in a day. For each product we take the label's own directions (how much per serving, how many servings a day) and compare the daily amount with what studies use: 1000–6000 mg/day. Products that reach that range when taken as directed come first, then by the least their directions give a day (counted only up to the top of the range); commission never changes the order.
Gummies (1)
| Product | Per serving | Servings a day | Per day, as directed | Verdict | Proof |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon Basics Fish Oil Gummies 303 mg · label 25 Sep 2024 | 80 mg in 2 gummies | 1 serving | 80 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
Capsules (20)
| Product | Per serving | Servings a day | Per day, as directed | Verdict | Proof |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Viva Naturals Triple-Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil · label 9 Oct 2026 | 2.07 g in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 2.07 g | Effective dose | Lab tested (IFOS (SGS Nutrasource) 2026, Labdoor 2026), found 105–112% of the label |
| Dr. Tobias Omega-3 Fish Oil · label 26 Dec 2020 | 1.4 g in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 1.4 g | Effective dose | Label claim only |
| Thorne Super EPA · label 21 Dec 2024 | 695 mg in 1 capsule | 2–3 servings | 1.39–2.08 g | Effective dose | NSF Certified for Sport, listed lots |
| Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega · label 23 Apr 2024 | 1.1 g in 2 capsules | 1–2 servings | 1.1–2.2 g | Effective dose | Label claim only |
| Carlson Super Omega-3 Gems · label 22 Aug 2025 | 1 g in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 1 g | Effective dose | Lab tested (IFOS (SGS Nutrasource) 2026, IFOS (SGS Nutrasource) 2025), found 107–113% of the label |
| Puritan's Pride Triple Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil 1400 mg · label 24 May 2023 | 882 mg in 1 capsule | 1–2 servings | 882 mg–1.76 g | Effective dose | Label claim only |
| NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3 · label 25 Jul 2024 | 750 mg in 1 capsule | 1–2 servings | 750 mg–1.5 g | Effective dose | Label claim only |
| Qunol Omega-3 1000 mg · label 16 Jun 2022 | 955 mg in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 955 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
| Sports Research Omega-3 Triple Strength · label 24 Apr 2025 | 950 mg in 1 capsule | 1 serving | 950 mg | Below research dose | Lab tested (IFOS (SGS Nutrasource) 2026), found 107–118% of the label |
| Carlson The Very Finest Fish Oil Softgels · label 24 Oct 2024 | 600 mg in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 600 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
| Nature Made Fish Oil 1200 mg · label 21 Jul 2022 | 600 mg in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 600 mg | Below research dose | USP Verified |
| NutraBio Omega-3 Fish Oil · label 22 Aug 2024 | 600 mg in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 600 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
| Nordic Naturals Algae Omega · label 18 Jul 2023 | 585 mg in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 585 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
| Nordic Naturals Omega-3 · label 25 Mar 2025 | 550 mg in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 550 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
| Nature Made Fish Oil 1000 mg · label 23 Aug 2022 | 500 mg in 2 capsules | 1 serving | 500 mg | Below research dose | USP Verified |
| Swanson Super EPA · label 22 Aug 2025 | 500 mg in 1 capsule | 1 serving | 500 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
| MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil 350 mg · label 24 May 2023 | 74 mg in 1 capsule | 1 serving | 74 mg | Below research dose | Label claim only |
| Nature's Bounty Fish Oil 1200 mg · label 24 May 2023 | Not stated in 1 capsule | 3 servings | — | Hidden in a blend | Label claim only |
| Nature's Bounty Mini Fish Oil 1290 mg · label 22 Apr 2021 | Not stated in 2 capsules | 1 serving | — | Hidden in a blend | Label claim only |
| Welby Fish Oil 1200 mg · label 22 Aug 2025 | Not stated in 1 capsule | 3 servings | — | Hidden in a blend | Label claim only |
21 products. Where the directions give a range, the verdict judges the most they give in a day. Read the EPA + DHA guide for the studies behind the dose. "Proof" is a published independent lab test, a certifier listing we read on the certifier's own site (usually for listed lots only), or "Label claim only" when we found neither.
What it takes to raise your omega-3 index
The omega-3 index is the share of EPA and DHA in your red blood cells, measured with a blood test; it reflects your intake over the past few months. A pooled analysis of 14 trials (1,422 people) found that about 2 g of EPA and DHA a day, taken for about 14 weeks, raised it from 4.9% to 8.1% on average. At 850 mg a day of an ethyl-ester oil it predicted about 6.5%. Gram for gram, triglyceride oils raised it about 1 percentage point more than ethyl esters (Walker et al., 2019).
How fast depends on the dose: in college football players given DHA, 6 g a day took the index past 8% in about 8 weeks and 4 g a day in about 15 (Lust et al., 2023). That is one reason we judge a product on its EPA and DHA a day, not on the fish-oil weight on the front: Nature Made's "Fish Oil 1000 mg" softgel gives 250 mg of EPA and DHA.
Research context, not advice. If you take blood thinners, ask a doctor before taking fish oil in high doses.