BCAA supplements
BCAAs are leucine, isoleucine and valine: three of the nine essential amino acids. We check the leucine in one serving against the 2–3 g studies use in a dose. Keep in mind that the ISSN rates BCAAs on their own as limited or mixed evidence for building muscle and advises all nine essential amino acids; see the EAA products. Commission never changes the order.
Powders (20)
| Product | Leucine in one serving | One serving vs research dose | To reach the research dose | Label's daily maximum | Essential amino acids (of 9) | Proof |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLMAX Aminocore BCAA · label 23 Feb 2025 | 3.68 g in 1 scoop (10.5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 3.68 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| BulkSupplements.com BCAA 2:1:1 · label 22 Mar 2024 | 3 g in one serving | Effective dose | One serving | 3 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| MusclePharm Essentials BCAA · label 19 May 2022 | 3 g in 1 scoop (6.5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 3 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| MuscleTech Amino Build · label 22 Jan 2022 | 4 g in 1 scoop (16 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 4 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| Transparent Labs BCAA Glutamine · label 9 Oct 2026 | 4 g in 1 scoop (16.5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 12 g (3 servings) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| XTEND The Original BCAA · label 25 Sep 2023 | 3.5 g in 1 scoop (14 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 14 g (4 servings) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| California Gold Nutrition Sport BCAA · label 14 Dec 2023 | 2.5 g in 1 scoop (5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 2.5 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| Doctor's Best Instantized BCAA Powder · label 21 Jul 2022 | 2.5 g in 1 scoop (5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 2.5 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| EVLution Nutrition BCAA 5000 · label 25 Mar 2025 | 2.5 g in 1 scoop (5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 2.5 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| EVLution Nutrition BCAA Energy · label 24 Jan 2024 | 2.5 g | Effective dose | One serving | 3.75 g (1.5 servings) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| Kaged BCAA 2:1:1 · label 9 Oct 2026 | 2.5 g in 1 scoop (5.5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | No daily total given | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| Lake Avenue Nutrition Instantized BCAA · label 24 Oct 2024 | 2.5 g in 1 scoop (5 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 2.5 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| NutraBio BCAA 5000 · label 24 Apr 2025 | 2.5 g in 1 scoop (6.97 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 5 g (2 servings) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| Clean Machine Clean BCAA · label 22 Mar 2024 | 2 g in 1 scoop (7.2 g) | Effective dose | One serving | 2 g (1 serving) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| ALLMAX Essentials BCAA · label 25 Mar 2025 | Not stated in 1 scoop (5 g) | Hidden in a blend | — | No daily total given | 3 of 9 · amounts hidden | Label claim only |
| BSN Amino X · label 23 May 2024 | Not stated in 1 scoop (14.5 g) | Hidden in a blend | — | No daily total given | 3 of 9 · amounts hidden | Label claim only |
| InnoSupps Natural BCAA · label 22 Feb 2024 | Not stated in 1 scoop (14.4 g) | Hidden in a blend | — | No daily total given | 9 of 9 · amounts hidden | Label claim only |
| MTN OPS BCAA · label 21 Dec 2024 | Not stated in 1 scoop (13 g) | Hidden in a blend | — | Not given | 3 of 9 · amounts hidden | Label claim only |
| NOW Sports BCAA Big 6 · label 24 Oct 2024 | Not stated in 1 scoop (19 g) | Hidden in a blend | — | No daily total given | 3 of 9 · amounts hidden | Label claim only |
| Nutricost BCAA+ · label 24 Oct 2024 | Not stated in 1 scoop (13 g) | Hidden in a blend | — | No daily total given | 3 of 9 · amounts hidden | Label claim only |
Capsules (3)
| Product | Leucine in one serving | One serving vs research dose | To reach the research dose | Label's daily maximum | Essential amino acids (of 9) | Proof |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Swanson BCAA · label 22 Feb 2024 | 1.02 g in 3 capsules | Below research dose | 6 capsules reach 2 g (more than directed) | 1.02 g (3 capsules) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| Nutricost BCAA 1000 mg · label 22 Feb 2024 | 500 mg in 2 capsules | Below research dose | 8 capsules reach 2 g (more than directed) | 500 mg (2 capsules) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
| Universal Nutrition BCAA Pro · label 24 Oct 2022 | 500 mg in 2 capsules | Below research dose | 8 capsules reach 2 g (more than directed) | 1 g (4 capsules) | 3 of 9 | Label claim only |
23 products. The verdict judges one serving, as the label gives it. Read the l-leucine guide for the studies behind the dose. "Proof" is a published independent lab test, a certifier listing we read on the certifier's own site (usually for listed lots only), or "Label claim only" when we found neither.