Performance Lab · Pre-workout

Is Performance Lab Pre Lab Pro underdosed?

1 scoop = 13 g20 scoopsLabel as of 25 Sep 2025 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 1 of 2 key ingredients.

Caffeine is below the amounts studies use. One ingredient sits in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.

Effective dose
1
Below research dose
1
Hidden in a blend
1
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • Vitamin D3 (Algae)Per scoop 13 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Riboflavin [NutriGenesis]Per scoop 500 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Vitamin B6 [NutriGenesis]Per scoop 750 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Folic Acid [NutriGenesis]Per scoop 167 mcg DFE, as printedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Vitamin B12 [NutriGenesis]Per scoop 2 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Potassium [NutriGenesis]Per scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Iron [NutriGenesis]Per scoop 3 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Sodium (Himalayan Pink Salt)Per scoop 200 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine, Natural (Coffea robusta)Per scoop 80 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 80 mg (1.1 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • L-TheanineLabel: L-Theanine (Green Tea)Per scoop 160 mgStudies 100–200 mgEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 160 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.

  • L-TyrosinePer scoop 400 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 400 mg. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.

  • L-CitrullineLabel: Kyowa Quality (L-Citrulline)Per scoop In a blendStudies 4–5.33 gHidden in a blendEvidence: Weak

    Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 2 ingredients in the 2.2 g Setria Performance Blend, it contains 1100–2200 mg. Even that maximum is below the 4–5.33 g studies use.

  • Setria (L-Glutathione)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Red Beet, PowderPer scoop 1.5 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.

  • Himalayan Pink SaltPer scoop 500 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

Setria Performance Blend
Proprietary blend · 2 ingredients · amounts not disclosed
2.2 g total

US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/2 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half.

  • L-Citrulline · 1st1100–2200 mg

How many scoops would it take?

To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

Caffeine to 225 mg
2.8 scoops
brings 225 mg caffeine

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  2. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  3. L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
  4. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  5. Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
  6. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 335009.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.