1st Phorm · Pre-workout
Is 1st Phorm Project-1 underdosed?
Effective dose on 5 of 5 key ingredients.
Caffeine is in the research range, plus an unlisted amount from coffee bean extract and green tea extract.
- Effective dose
- 6
- Below research dose
- 1
- Hidden in a blend
- 0
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Sodium (Pink Himalayan Sea Salt)Per scoop 205 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 4 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 4 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.
ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
Contains 5 g; studies use 3–5 g/day.
Contains 3.2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.
Contains 2.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day.
- GlycerolLabel: HydroPrime (Glycerol) [std. 65% Glycerol]Per scoop 2 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 2 g. Not graded: studies used about 1–1.2 g per kg of bodyweight (75–90 g at 75 kg) with a large drink, to hold extra water before endurance exercise. Pre-workouts add 0.5–3 g of a 65% glycerol powder for "pumps"; we know of no study of amounts that small.
- N-Acetyl-L-TyrosineLabel: N-Acetyl L-TyrosinePer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 1 g. Not graded: a form of L-tyrosine, which isn't graded either (see the L-tyrosine guide).
Contains 300 mg (4 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Alpha-GPCLabel: Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine (L-Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine) [50%]Per scoop 150 mgStudies 250–600 mg/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 150 mg; studies use 250–600 mg/day. Trials gave it daily, for weeks.
Contains 200 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.
- Acerola Fruit Juice Concentrate (Malpighia glabra Fruit Juice Concentrate)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Grape Seed ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Strawberry (Fragaria ananassa)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Coffee Bean ExtractLabel: Green Coffee Bean Extract (Coffea arabica Bean Extract); Green Coffee Bean Extract (Coffea arabica Bean Extract)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setUnlisted caffeineEvidence: Not graded
Coffee Bean Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
- Green Tea ExtractLabel: Green Tea Leaf Extract; Green Tea Leaf ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setUnlisted caffeineEvidence: Not graded
Green Tea Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
- Maqui (Aristotelia chilensis)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- AcaiPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Turmeric Rhizome ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- SilicaPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Kale (Brassica oleracea acephala)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Tart Cherry (Prunus cerasus)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BroccoliPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Blueberry ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Citric AcidPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Turmeric Rhizome ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Tart CherryPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Blueberry ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BroccoliPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Kale (Brassica oleracea acephala)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Contains 50 mg. Not graded: there is no peer-reviewed exercise trial, and 100–400 mg did not change mood or alertness in human studies.
- MethylliberineLabel: Dynamine (Methylliberine)Per scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 50 mg. Not graded: no exercise trial has tested it on its own; 100 mg improved how energetic people said they felt, but not their scores on cognitive tests (La Monica et al., 2023).
Contains 25 mg. Not graded: on its own it did not improve a 4 km cycling time trial, canoe sprints or field tests in three trials, and 6 mg per kg raised resting blood pressure (2022–2025).
- BioPerine (black pepper extract)Label: Bioperine (Black Pepper fruit extract) [95% Piperine]Per scoop 2 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 2 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.
Contains 100 mcg. Not graded: its one exercise trial found no effect. It is a prescription drug in China and not authorised as a food or supplement ingredient in the EU.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/14 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Coffee Bean Extract · 4th≤48 mg
- Green Tea Extract · 5th≤38 mg
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/7 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Coffee Bean Extract · 1st14–100 mg
- Green Tea Extract · 2nd≤50 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Alpha-GPC, 250–600 mg/day: Bellar et al., 2015Marcus et al., 2017.
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 312636.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.