Alani Nu · Pre-workout

Is Alani Nu Pre-Workout underdosed?

1 scoop = 10 g30 scoopsLabel as of 25 Sep 2025 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 2 of 3 key ingredients.

Beta-Alanine and Caffeine are below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.

Effective dose
2
Below research dose
2
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • CalciumPer scoop 35 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • SodiumPer scoop 145 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 4 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 4 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 1.6 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 1.6 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • L-TyrosinePer scoop 500 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 500 mg. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine (Coffea arabica Bean Extract)Per scoop 200 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 200 mg (2.7 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • L-TheaninePer scoop 200 mgStudies 100–200 mgEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 200 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

How many scoops would it take?

To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

Beta-Alanine to 3.2 g
2.0 scoops
brings 400 mg caffeine
Caffeine to 225 mg
1.1 scoops
brings 225 mg caffeine

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  2. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  3. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  4. L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
  5. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  6. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 336632.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.