Alpha Lion · Pre-workout
Is Alpha Lion SuperHuman Extreme underdosed?
Below research dose on 3 of 4 key ingredients.
L-Citrulline, Beta-Alanine and Betaine Anhydrous are below the amounts studies use. One ingredient sits in an undisclosed blend.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 4
- Hidden in a blend
- 1
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Superhuman Pump & Absorption MatrixPer scoop Not statedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Contains 2 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.
Contains 500 mg; studies use 1–6 g.
- Green Coffee bean extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Green Tea Leaf ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Turmeric Rhizome ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Blueberry ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BroccoliPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- KalePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Tart CherryPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BioPerine (black pepper extract)Label: Black Pepper fruit extractPer scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 5 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: Beta AlaninePer scoop 1.6 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 1.6 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
Contains 1.25 g; studies use 2.5 g/day. Betaine Anhydrous works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
Contains 500 mg. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine AnhydrousPer scoop In a blendStudies 3–6 mg/kgHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 3 ingredients in the 185 mg SXT Energy System, it contains 62–185 mg. Even that maximum is below the 3–6 mg/kg studies use.
- ZumXR Extended-Release CaffeinePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.
- zumXR Delayed-Release CaffeinePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.
- SantEnergy Nu (Eriodictyon californicum Aerial Part Extract)Per scoop 200 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- MethylliberineLabel: Methylliberine; Dynamine [Yielding 40%]Per scoop 70 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 70 mg. Not graded: no exercise trial has tested it on its own; 100 mg improved how energetic people said they felt, but not their scores on cognitive tests (La Monica et al., 2023).
- Huperzine ALabel: Huperzine A [Standardized 1%]Per scoop 100 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 100 mcg. Not graded: its one exercise trial found no effect. It is a prescription drug in China and not authorised as a food or supplement ingredient in the EU.
- Alfabin (Rauwolfia vomitoria)Per scoop 500 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/7 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/3 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third.
- Caffeine · 1st62–185 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 288562.
Assumptions used on this page: The label doesn't say how many scoops make a serving, so one serving is counted as one scoop.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.