Alpha Lion · Pre-workout
Is Alpha Lion SuperHuman Supreme underdosed?
Effective dose on 4 of 4 key ingredients.
One ingredient sits in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is in the research range, plus an unlisted amount from coffee bean extract and green tea extract.
- Effective dose
- 6
- Below research dose
- 0
- Hidden in a blend
- 1
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- NiacinPer scoop 12.5 mg NE, as printedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Vitamin B12 (Methylcobalamin)Per scoop 250 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Contains 50 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Infinergy (Dicaffeine Malate) [75% Caffeine]Per scoop 300 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgEffective doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 300 mg (4 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Juniper berry extractPer scoop 200 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- N,N-Dimethylphenethylamine CitratePer scoop 200 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- N-Methyltyramine HClPer scoop 75 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.
- L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 4.67 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 4.67 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.
ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
Contains 1 g; studies use 1–6 g.
- Coffee Bean ExtractLabel: Green Coffee bean extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setUnlisted caffeineEvidence: Not graded
Coffee Bean Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
Green Tea Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
- Turmeric extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Tart CherryPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BlueberryPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BroccoliPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- KalePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Contains 3.5 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.
Contains 2.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day.
Contains 150 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.
- AstraGinLabel: AstraGin (Astragalus membranaceous, Panax notoginseng)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setHidden in a blendEvidence: Not graded
Amount not disclosed.
- BioPerine (black pepper extract)Label: Bioperine (Black Pepper extract)Per scoop 10 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 10 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/7 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Coffee Bean Extract · 1st14–100 mg
- Green Tea Extract · 2nd≤50 mg
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/2 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half.
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
- Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 295921.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.