Alpha Lion · Pre-workout

Is Alpha Lion SuperHuman underdosed?

1 scoop = 8.1 g21 scoopsLabel as of 22 Mar 2023 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 3 of 4 key ingredients.

L-Citrulline, Beta-Alanine and Betaine Anhydrous are below the amounts studies use. One ingredient sits in an undisclosed blend. coffee bean extract and green tea extract adds caffeine the label doesn't quantify.

Effective dose
0
Below research dose
4
Hidden in a blend
1
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • L-CitrullinePer scoop 2 gStudies 4–5.33 gBelow research doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 2 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

  • TaurineLabel: L-TaurinePer scoop 500 mgStudies 1–6 gBelow research doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 500 mg; studies use 1–6 g.

  • Coffee Bean ExtractLabel: Green Coffee bean extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setUnlisted caffeineEvidence: Not graded

    Coffee Bean Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.

  • Green Tea ExtractLabel: Green Tea leaf extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setUnlisted caffeineEvidence: Not graded

    Green Tea Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.

  • Turmeric Rhizome ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Blueberry ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • BroccoliPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • KalePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Tart CherryPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • BioPerine (black pepper extract)Label: Black Pepper Fruit ExtractPer scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 5 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.

  • Beta-AlanineLabel: Beta AlaninePer scoop 1.6 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 1.6 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • Betaine AnhydrousPer scoop 1.25 gStudies 2.5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 1.25 g; studies use 2.5 g/day. Betaine Anhydrous works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • L-TyrosinePer scoop 750 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 750 mg. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.

  • SantEnergy Nu (Eriodictyon californicum Aerial Part Extract)Per scoop 200 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; ZumXR extended release Caffeine; zumXR Delayed-Release CaffeinePer scoop In a blendStudies 3–6 mg/kgHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong

    The label gives only the blend's total: its 3 forms are all 3 ingredients of the 163 mg SXT Energy System, so together they contain 163 mg. That is below the 3–6 mg/kg studies use.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

S7
Proprietary blend · 7 ingredients · amounts not disclosed
25 mg total

US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/7 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.

  • Coffee Bean Extract · 1st4–25 mg
  • Green Tea Extract · 2nd≤13 mg
SXT Energy System
Proprietary blend · 3 ingredients · amounts not disclosed
163 mg total

US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/3 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third.

  • Caffeine · 1st, 2nd and 3rd163 mg

How many scoops would it take?

To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

L-Citrulline to 4 g
2.0 scoops
brings 0 mg caffeine
Beta-Alanine to 3.2 g
2.0 scoops
brings 0 mg caffeine
Betaine Anhydrous to 2.5 g
2.0 scoops
brings 0 mg caffeine

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  2. Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
  3. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  4. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  5. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
  6. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  7. Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
  8. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 288565.

Assumptions used on this page: The label doesn't say how many scoops make a serving, so one serving is counted as one scoop.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.