Ascent · Pre-workout
Is Ascent Pre-Workout underdosed?
Below research dose on its 1 key ingredient.
Caffeine is below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 1
- Hidden in a blend
- 0
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)Contains 250 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).
- Vitamin DPer scoop Not statedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- CalciumPer scoop 24 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- IronPer scoop Not statedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- PotassiumPer scoop 24 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Whey Protein IsolatePer scoop Not statedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- CaffeineLabel: Coffee fruit extractPer scoop 150 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 150 mg (2 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineHow many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 275596.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.