Bloom Nutrition · Pre-workout
Is Bloom Nutrition High Energy Pre-Workout underdosed?
Below research dose on 1 of 3 key ingredients.
Caffeine is below the amounts studies use. 5 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 1
- Hidden in a blend
- 5
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Vitamin CLabel: Vitamin C (as ascorbic acid)Per scoop 100 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 100 mg. A vitamin or mineral: we grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxine HCL)Per scoop 35 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Vitamin B12 (as cyanocobalamin)Per scoop 30 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Calcium (as calcium silicate)Per scoop 23 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- SodiumLabel: Sodium (as sodium chloride)Per scoop 70 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 70 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline malate; L-citrullinePer scoop In a blendStudies 4–5.33 gHidden in a blendEvidence: Weak
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st and 2nd of 4 ingredients in the 4.67 g Natural Performance Blend, its 2 forms together contain ≤4675 mg. Studies use 4–5.33 g.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: beta-alaninePer scoop In a blendStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 4 ingredients in the 4.67 g Natural Performance Blend, it contains ≤1558 mg. Even that maximum is below the 3.2–6.4 g/day studies use.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Dietary NitrateLabel: beet root extractPer scoop In a blendStudies 310–560 mgHidden in a blendEvidence: Moderate
Amount not disclosed. As the 4th of 4 ingredients in the 4.67 g Natural Performance Blend, it contains ≤1169 mg. Studies use 310–560 mg.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 6 ingredients in the 1.26 g Clean Energy & Focus Blend, it contains 210–1263 mg.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- CaffeineLabel: green tea leaf extract (220mg caffeine)Per scoop 220 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 220 mg (2.9 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 6 ingredients in the 1.26 g Clean Energy & Focus Blend, it contains ≤421 mg. Studies use 100–200 mg.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- rhodiola root extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Korean ginseng rootPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- toothed clubmoss extract (whole plant)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- BioPerine (black pepper extract)Label: Black Pepper Fruit ExtractPer scoop 4 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 4 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/4 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- L-Citrulline · 1st and 2nd≤4675 mg
- Beta-Alanine · 3rd≤1558 mg
- Dietary Nitrate · 4th≤1169 mg
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/6 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- L-Tyrosine · 1st210–1263 mg
- L-Theanine · 3rd≤421 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Dietary Nitrate, 310–560 mg: Maughan et al., 2018.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
- Vitamin C, 200–1000 mg/day: Frei et al., 2012Gonzalez et al., 2026Levine et al., 1996.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.