Cellucor · Pre-workout
Is Cellucor C4 Extreme underdosed?
Below research dose on 4 of 4 key ingredients.
Beta-Alanine, L-Citrulline, Creatine Monohydrate and Caffeine are below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 4
- Hidden in a blend
- 0
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Beta-AlanineLabel: CarnoSyn (Beta-Alanine)Per scoop 2 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
- L-CitrullineLabel: NitraMax (Citrulline Nitrate)Per scoop 735 mgStudies 4–5.33 gBelow research doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 735 mg; studies use 4–5.33 g.
ASSUMPTION: citrulline nitrate (1:1) is counted as the L-citrulline in it: 175.19 ÷ 238.20 g/mol = 73.5% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the citrulline itself.
- Creatine MonohydrateLabel: NO3-T (Creatine Nitrate)Per scoop 768 mgStudies 3–5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 768 mg; studies use 3–5 g/day. Creatine Monohydrate works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
ASSUMPTION: creatine nitrate (1:1) is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: 149.15 ÷ 194.14 g/mol = 76.8% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine (Caffeine Anhydrous)Per scoop 200 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 200 mg (2.7 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
Contains 200 mg. Not graded: a form of L-tyrosine, which isn't graded either (see the L-tyrosine guide).
- Huperzine A (Toothed Club Moss Aerial Parts Extract)Per scoop 50 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineHow many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 322569.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: citrulline nitrate (1:1) is counted as the L-citrulline in it: 175.19 ÷ 238.20 g/mol = 73.5% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the citrulline itself. ASSUMPTION: creatine nitrate (1:1) is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: 149.15 ÷ 194.14 g/mol = 76.8% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.