Insane Labz · Pre-workout
Is Insane Labz Psycho Sam underdosed?
None of the 3 key ingredients can be shown to reach a research dose.
4 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 0
- Hidden in a blend
- 4
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Chloride (from Himalayan Pink Salt)Per scoop 114 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- SodiumLabel: Sodium (from Himalayan Pink Salt)Per scoop 72 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 72 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: Beta AlaninePer scoop In a blendStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 8 ingredients in the 6.6 g Psycho Sam Blend, it contains 825–6603 mg. Studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline MalatePer scoop In a blendStudies 4–5.33 gHidden in a blendEvidence: Weak
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 8 ingredients in the 6.6 g Psycho Sam Blend, it contains ≤3302 mg. Even that maximum is below the 4–5.33 g studies use.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 8 ingredients in the 6.6 g Psycho Sam Blend, it contains ≤2201 mg.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Infinergy™ (Di-Caffeine Malate); Caffeine CitratePer scoop In a blendStudies 3–6 mg/kgHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 4th, 5th and 6th of 8 ingredients in the 6.6 g Psycho Sam Blend, its 3 forms together contain ≤3302 mg. Studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Rauwolfia Vomitoria Extract (std. min. 90% alpha yohimbine)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Yohimbine HCL 98% (Pausinystalia Yohimbe) (bark)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/8 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Beta-Alanine · 1st825–6603 mg
- L-Citrulline · 2nd≤3302 mg
- L-Tyrosine · 3rd≤2201 mg
- Caffeine · 4th, 5th and 6th≤3302 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.