Insane Labz · Pre-workout

Is Insane Labz Psychotic Black underdosed?

1 scoop = 6.4 g35 scoopsLabel as of 25 Mar 2025 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

None of the 3 key ingredients can be shown to reach a research dose.

5 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend.

Effective dose
0
Below research dose
0
Hidden in a blend
5
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • Creatine MonohydratePer scoop In a blendStudies 3–5 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong

    Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 8 ingredients in the 4.7 g Psychotic Black Blend, it contains 0.59–4.70 g. Studies use 3–5 g/day.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop In a blendStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong

    Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 8 ingredients in the 4.7 g Psychotic Black Blend, it contains ≤2.35 g. Even that maximum is below the 3.2–6.4 g/day studies use.

  • TaurinePer scoop In a blendStudies 1–6 gHidden in a blendEvidence: Moderate

    Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 8 ingredients in the 4.7 g Psychotic Black Blend, it contains ≤1.57 g. Studies use 1–6 g.

  • L-TyrosinePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setHidden in a blendEvidence: Not graded

    Amount not disclosed. As the 4th of 8 ingredients in the 4.7 g Psychotic Black Blend, it contains ≤1.18 g.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Dicaffeine Malate; Caffeine CitratePer scoop In a blendStudies 3–6 mg/kgHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong

    Amount not disclosed. As the 5th, 7th and 8th of 8 ingredients in the 4.7 g Psychotic Black Blend, its 3 forms together contain ≤1.76 g. Studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • AMPiberry (Juniperus communis)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

Psychotic Black Blend
Proprietary blend · 8 ingredients · amounts not disclosed
4.7 g total

US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/8 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.

  • Creatine Monohydrate · 1st0.59–4.70 g
  • Beta-Alanine · 2nd≤2.35 g
  • Taurine · 3rd≤1.57 g
  • L-Tyrosine · 4th≤1.18 g
  • Caffeine · 5th, 7th and 8th≤1.76 g

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  2. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  3. Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
  4. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
  5. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  6. Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
  7. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 326637.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.