Kaged · Pre-workout

Is Kaged Pre-Kaged underdosed?

1 scoop = 28.3 g20 scoopsLabel as of 23 Jan 2025 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 2 of 5 key ingredients.

Beta-Alanine and Creatine Monohydrate are below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is in the research range.

Effective dose
4
Below research dose
2
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • Niacin (Niacinamide)Per scoop 30 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)Per scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Vitamin B12 (Methylcobalamin)Per scoop 500 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline [Fermented]Per scoop 6.5 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 6.5 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

  • L-Leucine [Fermented]Per scoop 1.75 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.

  • L-Isoleucine [Fermented]Per scoop 875 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.

  • L-Valine [Fermented]Per scoop 875 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • L-Leucine [Fermented]Per scoop 3 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.

  • Betaine AnhydrousLabel: BetaPower (Betaine Anhydrous)Per scoop 2.5 gStudies 2.5 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 2.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day.

  • Beta-AlanineLabel: CarnoSyn (Beta-Alanine)Per scoop 1.6 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 1.6 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • Creatine MonohydrateLabel: Patented Creatine HCl (Creatine Hydrochloride)Per scoop 1.33 gStudies 3–5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 1.33 g; studies use 3–5 g/day. Creatine Monohydrate works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

    ASSUMPTION: creatine HCl is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: the same 131.13 g/mol of creatine sits in 167.59 g/mol of the hydrochloride and 149.15 g/mol of the monohydrate, so 1 g = 0.89 g monohydrate. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself.

  • Coconut Water, PowderPer scoop 500 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Coffee Whole Fruit Extract (Coffea arabica Whole Fruit Extract)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Green Tea leaf extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Broccoli sprout concentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Onion bulb extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Apple fruit extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Acerola Fruit ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Camu Camu Fruit ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Quercetin (Sophora japonica)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Tomato fruit concentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Broccoli Floret, Stem Concentrate (Broccoli Floret Concentrate, Broccoli Stem Concentrate)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Acai Fruit ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Basil Leaf ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Cinnamon Bark Concentrate (Cinnamomum burmannii, Cinnamomum cassia) [Cinnamomum cassia/burmannii blend]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Garlic Clove ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Oregano Leaf ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Turmeric Rhizome ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Carrot Root ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Elderberry Fruit Concentrate (Sambucus nigra Fruit Concentrate)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Mangosteen fruit concentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Blackberry Fruit ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Blackcurrant fruit extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Blueberry Fruit ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Chokeberry Fruit Concentrate (Aronia melanocarpa Fruit Concentrate)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Raspberry Fruit ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Sweet Cherry Fruit ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Spinach Leaf ConcentratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Kale Leaf Concentrate (Brassica oleracea var. sabellica leaf Concentrate)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Bilberry Fruit ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Brussels Sprout Concentrate (Brassica oleracea var. gemmifera Concentrate)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • TaurinePer scoop 2 gStudies 1–6 gEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 2 g; studies use 1–6 g.

  • N-Acetyl-L-TyrosinePer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • L-TyrosineLabel: L-Tyrosine [Fermented]Per scoop 850 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 850 mg. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.

  • CaffeineLabel: PurCaf (Caffeine) [Organic]Per scoop 274 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 274 mg (3.7 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

Spectra Total ORAC Blend
Proprietary blend · 29 ingredients · amounts not disclosed
100 mg total

US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/29 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.

    How many scoops would it take?

    To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

    Beta-Alanine to 3.2 g
    2.0 scoops
    brings 548 mg caffeine
    Creatine Monohydrate to 3 g
    2.2 scoops
    brings 616 mg caffeine

    Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.

    Where the reference doses come from

    1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
    2. Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
    3. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
    4. Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
    5. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
    6. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
    7. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
    8. Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
    9. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 323462.

    Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: creatine HCl is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: the same 131.13 g/mol of creatine sits in 167.59 g/mol of the hydrochloride and 149.15 g/mol of the monohydrate, so 1 g = 0.89 g monohydrate. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself.

    Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.