Nutrex · Pre-workout
Is Nutrex Outrage underdosed?
None of the 4 key ingredients can be shown to reach a research dose.
5 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 0
- Hidden in a blend
- 5
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 10 ingredients in the 4.5 g Outrage Ultra-Stim Preworkout Blend, it contains 0.45–4.50 g. Studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 10 ingredients in the 4.5 g Outrage Ultra-Stim Preworkout Blend, it contains ≤2.25 g. Even that maximum is below the 4–5.33 g studies use.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 10 ingredients in the 4.5 g Outrage Ultra-Stim Preworkout Blend, it contains ≤1.50 g. Even that maximum is below the 3–5 g/day studies use.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine AnhydrousPer scoop In a blendStudies 3–6 mg/kgHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 4th of 10 ingredients in the 4.5 g Outrage Ultra-Stim Preworkout Blend, it contains ≤1.13 g. Studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Citrus aurantium Extract Blend (fruit) (25% P-Synephrine)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Amount not disclosed. As the 6th of 10 ingredients in the 4.5 g Outrage Ultra-Stim Preworkout Blend, it contains ≤0.75 g.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Skullcap Extract (root) (Scutellaria lateriflora)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Dendrobium Extract (stem, leaf) Dendrobii caulisPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Rauwolfia vomitoria Extract (root) (90% Rauwolscine)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
- Yohimbe HCLPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.
We're checking this amount against the label: the source prints it in an unusual unit.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/10 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Beta-Alanine · 1st0.45–4.50 g
- L-Citrulline · 2nd≤2.25 g
- Creatine Monohydrate · 3rd≤1.50 g
- Caffeine · 4th≤1.13 g
- L-Tyrosine · 6th≤0.75 g
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.