PEScience · Pre-workout · Sold as stim-free
Is PEScience High Volume underdosed?
Effective dose on its 1 key ingredient.
2 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend.
- Effective dose
- 1
- Below research dose
- 1
- Hidden in a blend
- 2
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)Contains 250 mg. A vitamin or mineral: we grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Contains 4 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 3 ingredients in the 3.75 g Performance Pump Matrix, it contains 1250–3750 mg. Studies use 1–6 g.
- GlycerolLabel: Hydromax (Glycerol) [65% Glycerol]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setHidden in a blendEvidence: Not graded
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 3 ingredients in the 3.75 g Performance Pump Matrix, it contains ≤1875 mg.
- Ferula asafoetida Root Extract (Ferulic Acid) [95% Ferulic Acid]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- L-ArginineLabel: NO3-T (Arginine Nitrate)Per scoop 734 mgStudies 0.15 g/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 1.47 g (19.6 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 0.15 g/kg.
ASSUMPTION: arginine nitrate (1:1) is counted as the L-arginine in it: 174.20 ÷ 237.21 g/mol = 73.4% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the arginine itself.
Contains 1 g. Not graded: no human study has tested it for exercise; human studies are for nerve pain.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/3 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third.
- Taurine · 1st1250–3750 mg
- Glycerol · 2nd≤1875 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- L-Arginine, 0.15 g/kg: Viribay et al., 2020.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
- Vitamin C, 200–1000 mg/day: Frei et al., 2012Gonzalez et al., 2026Levine et al., 1996.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 318594.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: arginine nitrate (1:1) is counted as the L-arginine in it: 174.20 ÷ 237.21 g/mol = 73.4% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the arginine itself.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.