Psycho Pharma · Pre-workout

Is Psycho Pharma Edge of Insanity underdosed?

1 scoop = 14.4 g25 scoopsLabel as of 21 Dec 2024 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Effective dose on 3 of 3 key ingredients.

Caffeine is in the research range.

Effective dose
3
Below research dose
0
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 5.33 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 5.33 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 3.2 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 3.2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Infinergy (Dicaffeine Malate)Per scoop 350 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 350 mg (4.7 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • TheobrominePer scoop 20 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 20 mg. Not graded: there is no peer-reviewed exercise trial, and 100–400 mg did not change mood or alertness in human studies.

  • Yohimbine Hydrochloride (Pausinystalia yohimbe)Per scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.

  • Alpha-Yohimbine Hydrochloride (Rauwolfia vomitoria)Per scoop 4 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.

  • Gamma-Aminobutyric AcidPer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  2. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  3. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  4. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  5. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 327765.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.