Redcon1 · Pre-workout

Is Redcon1 Total War underdosed?

1 scoop = 14.9 g30 scoopsLabel as of 22 Nov 2023 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Effective dose on 3 of 3 key ingredients.

Caffeine is in the research range.

Effective dose
4
Below research dose
0
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • L-CitrullineLabel: Citrulline Malate (L-Citrulline, Malic Acid) [2:1 ratio of L-citrulline and malic acid]Per scoop 4 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 4 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 3.2 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 3.2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.

  • Agmatine SulfatePer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 1 g. Not graded: no human study has tested it for exercise; human studies are for nerve pain.

  • TaurinePer scoop 1 gStudies 1–6 gEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 1 g; studies use 1–6 g.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Di-Caffeine MalatePer scoop 320 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 320 mg (4.3 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • Juniper Berry Extract (Juniperus communis Berry Extract)Per scoop 150 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Green Tea Leaf Extract (Polyphenols) [providing 90% polyphenols]Per scoop 45 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Naringin (Citrus grandis) [providing 98% Naringin]Per scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Bioperine (Black Pepper Fruit Extract)Per scoop 10 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • TheobromineLabel: Cocoa Seed Extract (Theobromine) [providing 98% Theobromine]Per scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 5 mg. Not graded: there is no peer-reviewed exercise trial, and 100–400 mg did not change mood or alertness in human studies.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  2. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  3. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  4. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
  5. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  6. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 300126.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.