Transparent Labs · Pre-workout

Is Transparent Labs BULK underdosed?

1 scoop = 20.5 g30 scoopsLabel as of 24 May 2023 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 1 of 4 key ingredients.

Caffeine is below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.

Effective dose
5
Below research dose
2
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxal 5-Phosphate)Per scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Vitamin B12 (Methylcobalamin)Per scoop 100 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Zinc (Zinc Chelate)Per scoop 10 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Sodium (Himalayan Rock Salt)Per scoop 180 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Potassium (Potassium Chloride)Per scoop 125 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • L-CitrullineLabel: Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 5.33 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 5.33 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 4 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 4 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.

  • Betaine AnhydrousLabel: BetaPure (Betaine Anhydrous)Per scoop 2.5 gStudies 2.5 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 2.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day.

  • TaurinePer scoop 1.3 gStudies 1–6 gEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 1.3 g; studies use 1–6 g.

  • L-TyrosinePer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 1 g. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.

  • Alpha-GPCLabel: AlphaSize (Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine) [50% Alpha GPC]Per scoop 150 mgStudies 250–600 mg/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 150 mg; studies use 250–600 mg/day. Trials gave it daily, for weeks.

  • CaffeineLabel: PurCaf (Caffeine) [organic caffeine]Per scoop 200 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 200 mg (2.7 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • L-TheaninePer scoop 200 mgStudies 100–200 mgEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 200 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.

  • TheobrominePer scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 50 mg. Not graded: there is no peer-reviewed exercise trial, and 100–400 mg did not change mood or alertness in human studies.

  • Seneactiv (Panax notoginseng, Rosa roxburghii)Per scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Bioperine (Black Pepper Fruit Extract)Per scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Boron (Boron Citrate)Per scoop 3 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Stevia extractPer scoop 450 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Calcium SilicatePer scoop 400 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Silicon DioxidePer scoop 400 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Beet, PowderPer scoop 70 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

How many scoops would it take?

To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

Caffeine to 225 mg
1.1 scoops
brings 225 mg caffeine

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Alpha-GPC, 250–600 mg/day: Bellar et al., 2015Marcus et al., 2017.
  2. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  3. Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
  4. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  5. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  6. L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
  7. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
  8. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  9. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 295773.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.