Transparent Labs · Pre-workout · Sold as stim-free

Is Transparent Labs Stim-Free underdosed?

1 scoop = 20.3 g30 scoopsLabel as of 23 Feb 2025 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Effective dose on 3 of 3 key ingredients.

Every key ingredient on the label reaches the low end of its research dose.

Effective dose
4
Below research dose
0
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • Sodium (Himalayan Rock Salt)Per scoop 150 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Potassium (Potassium Chloride)Per scoop 100 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • L-CitrullineLabel: Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 5.33 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 5.33 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 4 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 4 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.

  • Betaine AnhydrousLabel: BetaPure (Betaine Anhydrous)Per scoop 2.5 gStudies 2.5 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 2.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day.

  • TaurinePer scoop 1.3 gStudies 1–6 gEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 1.3 g; studies use 1–6 g.

  • L-TyrosinePer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 1 g. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.

  • elevATP (Ancient Peat, Apple Extract)Per scoop 150 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Senactiv (Panax notoginseng, Rosa roxburghii)Per scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Bioperine (Black Pepper Fruit Extract)Per scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Huperzine APer scoop 100 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 100 mcg. Not graded: its one exercise trial found no effect. It is a prescription drug in China and not authorised as a food or supplement ingredient in the EU.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  2. Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
  3. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  4. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
  5. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  6. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 329215.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.