Swanson · Omega-3 · Capsules

Is Swanson Super EPA underdosed?

1 serving = 1 capsuleDirections: 1 serving a dayLabel as of 22 Aug 2025 · NIH DSLD

Verdict

500 mg a dayas the label directs · studies use 1000–6000 mg/day of EPA + DHA

Below research dose

Taken as the label directs (1 serving a day, 500 mg each), it gives 500 mg a day; studies use 1000–6000 mg/day. EPA + DHA builds up in the body through daily use over weeks; a lower daily amount still builds up, just more slowly.

One capsule gives 500 mg, so reaching the low end of what studies use (1 g) takes 2 capsules a day; it ranks 16th of 21 omega-3 supplements here by dose.

To reach the research dose. It would take 2 capsules a day (1 g) to reach the 1 g studies use, more than the label's directions, which allow 1 capsule a day (1 serving a day).

Wondering about your omega-3 index? What it takes to raise it, and why EPA and DHA count.

What the label says

EPA + DHA per serving
500 mg in 1 capsule
Servings a day
1 serving a day
EPA + DHA a day, as directed
500 mg
Research dose
1000–6000 mg/day Evidence: Moderate
Suggested use: As a dietary supplement, take one softgel per day with food and water.
The label's directions, as printed.

Also on the label

IngredientPer servingVerdict
EPA300 mgNot graded
DHA200 mgNot graded
Other Omega-3 Fatty Acid Ethyl Ester50 mgNot graded

More about EPA + DHA: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 21 omega-3 supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 1000–6000 mg/day of EPA + DHA; servings counted to 1 g.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
Viva Naturals Triple-Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil2.07 g1 or lessCapsules
Dr. Tobias Omega-3 Fish Oil1.4 g1 or lessCapsules
Thorne Super EPA695 mg1.4Capsules
Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega1.1 g1 or lessCapsules
Carlson Super Omega-3 Gems1 g1 or lessCapsules
Puritan's Pride Triple Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil 1400 mg882 mg1.1Capsules
NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3750 mg1.3Capsules
Qunol Omega-3 1000 mg955 mg1 or lessCapsules
Sports Research Omega-3 Triple Strength950 mg1.1Capsules
Carlson The Very Finest Fish Oil Softgels600 mg1.7Capsules
Nature Made Fish Oil 1200 mg600 mg1.7Capsules
NutraBio Omega-3 Fish Oil600 mg1.7Capsules
Nordic Naturals Algae Omega585 mg1.7Capsules
Nordic Naturals Omega-3550 mg1.8Capsules
Nature Made Fish Oil 1000 mg500 mg2Capsules
Swanson Super EPA (this product)500 mg2Capsules
Amazon Basics Fish Oil Gummies 303 mg80 mg12.5Gummies
MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil 350 mg74 mg13.5Capsules
Nature's Bounty Fish Oil 1200 mgNot stated—Capsules
Nature's Bounty Mini Fish Oil 1290 mgNot stated—Capsules
Welby Fish Oil 1200 mgNot stated—Capsules

Where the reference doses come from

  1. EPA + DHA, 1000–6000 mg/day: Gonzalez et al., 2026; Maughan et al., 2018.
  2. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 337723, including its servings a day.

For a supplement taken every day we judge the most the label's directions give in a day, and show the least. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.