MegaRed · Omega-3 · Capsules

Is MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil 350 mg underdosed?

1 serving = 1 capsuleDirections: 1 serving a dayLabel as of 24 May 2023 · NIH DSLD

Verdict

74 mg a dayas the label directs · studies use 1000–6000 mg/day of EPA + DHA

Below research dose

Taken as the label directs (1 serving a day, 74 mg each), it gives 74 mg a day; studies use 1000–6000 mg/day. EPA + DHA builds up in the body through daily use over weeks; a lower daily amount still builds up, just more slowly.

One capsule gives 74 mg, so reaching the low end of what studies use (1 g) takes 13.5 capsules a day; it ranks 18th of 21 omega-3 supplements here by dose.

To reach the research dose. It would take 14 capsules a day (1.04 g) to reach the 1 g studies use, more than the label's directions, which allow 1 capsule a day (1 serving a day).

Wondering about your omega-3 index? What it takes to raise it, and why EPA and DHA count.

What the label says

EPA + DHA per serving
74 mg in 1 capsule
Servings a day
1 serving a day
EPA + DHA a day, as directed
74 mg
Research dose
1000–6000 mg/day Evidence: Moderate
Suggested use: Adults take one (1) softgel daily. Consult your healthcare professional for the proper amount for you.
The label's directions, as printed.

Also on the label

IngredientPer servingVerdict
EPA50 mgNot graded
DHA24 mgNot graded
Phospholipids130 mgNot graded
Astaxanthin (Krill Oil) [At time of manufacture.]17 mcgNot graded

More about EPA + DHA: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 21 omega-3 supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 1000–6000 mg/day of EPA + DHA; servings counted to 1 g.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
Viva Naturals Triple-Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil2.07 g1 or lessCapsules
Dr. Tobias Omega-3 Fish Oil1.4 g1 or lessCapsules
Thorne Super EPA695 mg1.4Capsules
Nordic Naturals Ultimate Omega1.1 g1 or lessCapsules
Carlson Super Omega-3 Gems1 g1 or lessCapsules
Puritan's Pride Triple Strength Omega-3 Fish Oil 1400 mg882 mg1.1Capsules
NOW Foods Ultra Omega-3750 mg1.3Capsules
Qunol Omega-3 1000 mg955 mg1 or lessCapsules
Sports Research Omega-3 Triple Strength950 mg1.1Capsules
Carlson The Very Finest Fish Oil Softgels600 mg1.7Capsules
Nature Made Fish Oil 1200 mg600 mg1.7Capsules
NutraBio Omega-3 Fish Oil600 mg1.7Capsules
Nordic Naturals Algae Omega585 mg1.7Capsules
Nordic Naturals Omega-3550 mg1.8Capsules
Nature Made Fish Oil 1000 mg500 mg2Capsules
Swanson Super EPA500 mg2Capsules
Amazon Basics Fish Oil Gummies 303 mg80 mg12.5Gummies
MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil 350 mg (this product)74 mg13.5Capsules
Nature's Bounty Fish Oil 1200 mgNot stated—Capsules
Nature's Bounty Mini Fish Oil 1290 mgNot stated—Capsules
Welby Fish Oil 1200 mgNot stated—Capsules

Where the reference doses come from

  1. EPA + DHA, 1000–6000 mg/day: Gonzalez et al., 2026; Maughan et al., 2018.
  2. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 295563, including its servings a day.

For a supplement taken every day we judge the most the label's directions give in a day, and show the least. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.