Alpha Lion · Pre-workout · Sold as stim-free
Is Alpha Lion SuperHuman Pump underdosed?
Below research dose on 2 of 2 key ingredients.
L-Citrulline and Beta-Alanine are below the amounts studies use. coffee bean extract and green tea extract adds caffeine the label doesn't quantify.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 3
- Hidden in a blend
- 0
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Sodium (Himalayan Pink Sea Salt)Per scoop 175 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Potassium CitratePer scoop 38 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Magnesium CitratePer scoop 18 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- NiacinPer scoop 6.25 mg NE, as printedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 2.67 gStudies 4–5.33 gBelow research doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 2.67 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.
ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: Beta AlaninePer scoop 1.75 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 1.75 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
- GlycerolLabel: HydroPrime (Glycerol, Powder) [standardized for minimum 65% Glycerol]Per scoop 1.5 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 1.5 g. Not graded: studies used about 1–1.2 g per kg of bodyweight (75–90 g at 75 kg) with a large drink, to hold extra water before endurance exercise. Pre-workouts add 0.5–3 g of a 65% glycerol powder for "pumps"; we know of no study of amounts that small.
- Lion's Mane [Organic]Per scoop 300 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Alpha-GPCLabel: AlphaSize (Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine) [Alpha GPC 50%]Per scoop 75 mgStudies 250–600 mg/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 75 mg; studies use 250–600 mg/day. Trials gave it daily, for weeks.
- Coffee Bean ExtractLabel: Green Coffee bean extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setUnlisted caffeineEvidence: Not graded
Coffee Bean Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
Green Tea Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
- Turmeric extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Tart CherryPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BlueberryPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BroccoliPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- KalePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- AstraGinLabel: AstraGin (Astragalus membranaceous, Panax notoginseng)Per scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 25 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.
Contains 100 mcg. Not graded: its one exercise trial found no effect. It is a prescription drug in China and not authorised as a food or supplement ingredient in the EU.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/7 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Coffee Bean Extract · 1st11–75 mg
- Green Tea Extract · 2nd≤38 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Alpha-GPC, 250–600 mg/day: Bellar et al., 2015Marcus et al., 2017.
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 295919.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.