BSN · Pre-workout
Is BSN N.O.-Xplode underdosed?
Effective dose on 1 of 4 key ingredients.
9 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is in the research range.
- Effective dose
- 1
- Below research dose
- 0
- Hidden in a blend
- 9
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Vitamin DPer scoop 13 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- ThiaminePer scoop 2 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- NiacinPer scoop 20 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Vitamin B6Per scoop 2 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- FolatePer scoop 330 mcg DFE, as printedStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Vitamin B12Per scoop 6 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Pantothenic AcidPer scoop 10 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- CalciumPer scoop 40 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Contains 125 mg. A vitamin or mineral: we grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Contains 100 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).
- PotassiumPer scoop 200 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Amount not disclosed.
- Creatine AnhydrousPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 5 ingredients in the 5.1 g Myogenic Matrix, it contains ≤2.55 g. Studies use 1–6 g.
- Dicalcium PhosphatePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Disodium PhosphatePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- AstraGinLabel: AstraGIN Proprietary Blend (Astragalus membranaceus extract, Panax notoginseng extract)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setHidden in a blendEvidence: Not graded
Amount not disclosed. As the 5th of 5 ingredients in the 5.1 g Myogenic Matrix, it contains ≤1.02 g.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: CarnoSyn (Beta-Alanine)Per scoop In a blendStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 5 ingredients in the 2.9 g Endura Shot, it contains 0.58–2.90 g. Even that maximum is below the 3.2–6.4 g/day studies use.
- Potassium BicarbonatePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 5 ingredients in the 2.9 g Endura Shot, it contains ≤0.97 g. Even that maximum is below the 0.2–0.3 g/kg studies use.
- Magnesium OxidePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- CholecalciferolPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- N-Acetyl-L-TyrosineLabel: N-Acetyl-TyrosinePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setHidden in a blendEvidence: Not graded
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 4 ingredients in the 1.3 g Thermic Energy, it contains 0.33–1.30 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 4 ingredients in the 1.3 g Thermic Energy, it contains ≤0.65 g.
Contains 275 mg (3.7 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Grapefruit Bioflavonoid ComplexPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline MalatePer scoop In a blendStudies 4–5.33 gHidden in a blendEvidence: Weak
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 6 ingredients in the 1 g N.O. Alpha Fusion, it contains ≤1.00 g. Even that maximum is below the 4–5.33 g studies use.
- Danshen Root ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Grape Skin ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Capros (Phyllanthus emblica fruit extract)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Hawthorn extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Folic AcidPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- DMAE BitartratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- L-PhenylalanineLabel: DL-PhenylalaninePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setHidden in a blendEvidence: Not graded
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 8 ingredients in the 290 mg Shock Composite, it contains ≤145 mg.
- Nicotinic AcidPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Calcium D-PantothenatePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Toothed Clubmoss aerial parts extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Thiamine HydrochloridePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Pyridoxine HydrochloridePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- CyanocobalaminPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/5 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Taurine · 2nd≤2.55 g
- AstraGin · 5th≤1.02 g
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/2 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half.
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/5 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Beta-Alanine · 1st0.58–2.90 g
- Sodium Bicarbonate · 3rd≤0.97 g
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/4 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine · 1st0.33–1.30 g
- L-Tyrosine · 2nd≤0.65 g
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/6 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- L-Citrulline · 1st≤1.00 g
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/8 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- L-Phenylalanine · 2nd≤145 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Magnesium, 300–350 mg/day: Zhang et al., 2016.
- Sodium Bicarbonate, 0.2–0.3 g/kg: Grgic et al., 2021.
- Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 296445.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.