Cellucor · Pre-workout
Is Cellucor C4 Sport underdosed?
Below research dose on 1 of 3 key ingredients.
Caffeine is below the amounts studies use. 4 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 1
- Hidden in a blend
- 4
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)Per scoop 3 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Vitamin B12 (Cyanocobalamin)Per scoop 60 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- CalciumPer scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Magnesium (Magnesium Chloride)Per scoop 12 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Sodium (Sodium Citrate)Per scoop 60 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Potassium (Dipotassium Phosphate)Per scoop 20 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: CarnoSyn (Beta-Alanine)Per scoop In a blendStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 6 ingredients in the 3.18 g C4 Sport Performance Blend, it contains 0.53–3.18 g. Even that maximum is below the 3.2–6.4 g/day studies use.
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 6 ingredients in the 3.18 g C4 Sport Performance Blend, it contains ≤1.59 g. Even that maximum is below the 0.15 g/kg studies use.
- Creatine MonohydrateLabel: Con-Cret (Creatine Hydrochloride)Per scoop In a blendStudies 3–5 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 6 ingredients in the 3.18 g C4 Sport Performance Blend, it contains ≤1.06 g. Even that maximum is below the 3–5 g/day studies use.
- Sodium CitratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Magnesium ChloridePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Dipotassium PhosphatePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 4 ingredients in the 1.14 g C4 Sport Energy Blend, it contains 0.28–1.14 g. Studies use 1–6 g.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine AnhydrousPer scoop 135 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 135 mg (1.8 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Pyridoxine HydrochloridePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- CyanocobalaminPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/6 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Beta-Alanine · 1st0.53–3.18 g
- L-Arginine · 2nd≤1.59 g
- Creatine Monohydrate · 3rd≤1.06 g
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/4 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Taurine · 1st0.28–1.14 g
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- L-Arginine, 0.15 g/kg: Viribay et al., 2020.
- Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 309673.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.