JNX Sports · Pre-workout
Is JNX Sports The Curse underdosed?
Below research dose on 1 of 4 key ingredients.
Caffeine is below the amounts studies use. 3 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 1
- Hidden in a blend
- 3
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 3 ingredients in the 3 g Energizing Muscle Fuel Blend, it contains 1000–3000 mg. Even that maximum is below the 3.2–6.4 g/day studies use.
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 3 ingredients in the 3 g Energizing Muscle Fuel Blend, it contains ≤1500 mg. Even that maximum is below the 3–5 g/day studies use.
- Citric AcidPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 2 ingredients in the 900 mg Amplifier Blend, it contains 450–900 mg. Even that maximum is below the 4–5.33 g studies use.
- L-Arginine Alpha-KetoglutaratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine AnhydrousPer scoop 155 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 155 mg (2.1 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Olive Leaf Extract (Oleuropein) [40% Oleuropein]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/3 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third.
- Beta-Alanine · 1st1000–3000 mg
- Creatine Monohydrate · 2nd≤1500 mg
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/2 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half.
- L-Citrulline · 1st450–900 mg
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/2 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half.
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 274913.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.