JYM · Pre-workout
Is JYM Pre JYM underdosed?
Below research dose on 3 of 5 key ingredients.
Creatine Monohydrate, Beta-Alanine and Betaine Anhydrous are below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is in the research range.
- Effective dose
- 3
- Below research dose
- 4
- Hidden in a blend
- 0
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)Contains 100 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).
- CalciumPer scoop 49 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- PotassiumPer scoop 36 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Creatine MonohydrateLabel: Con-Cret (Creatine Hydrochloride)Per scoop 1.78 gStudies 3–5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 1.78 g; studies use 3–5 g/day. Creatine Monohydrate works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
ASSUMPTION: creatine HCl is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: the same 131.13 g/mol of creatine sits in 167.59 g/mol of the hydrochloride and 149.15 g/mol of the monohydrate, so 1 g = 0.89 g monohydrate. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself.
Contains 2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
- Betaine AnhydrousLabel: Betaine (Trimethylglycine)Per scoop 1.5 gStudies 2.5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Moderate
Contains 1.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day. Betaine Anhydrous works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
Contains 1 g; studies use 1–6 g.
- Alpha-GPCLabel: AlphaSize (Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine)Per scoop 150 mgStudies 250–600 mg/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 150 mg; studies use 250–600 mg/day. Trials gave it daily, for weeks.
- L-CitrullineLabel: Citrulline MalatePer scoop 6 g, as printedStudies 4–5.33 gNot gradedEvidence: Weak
Listed as “Citrulline Malate”, a form we have no conversion for, so it isn't graded.
- Dietary NitrateLabel: Beet Root ExtractPer scoop 500 mg, as printedStudies 310–560 mgNot gradedEvidence: Moderate
Listed as “Beet Root Extract”, a form we have no conversion for, so it isn't graded.
Contains 3 g; studies use 2–3 g.
Contains 1.5 g. Not graded: no agreed dose of isoleucine on its own. We compare it with the WHO adult requirement pattern: a 10 g dose of essential amino acids in that pattern holds about 1.09 g.
Contains 1.5 g. Not graded: no agreed dose of valine on its own. We compare it with the WHO adult requirement pattern: a 10 g dose of essential amino acids in that pattern holds about 1.41 g.
Contains 1.5 g. Not graded: a 2023 meta-analysis found no effect on endurance; its evidence is for focus under stress, at about 150 mg per kg of bodyweight.
Contains 300 mg (4 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Huperzine A (Toothed Clubmoss Aerial Parts Extract)Per scoop 50 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- BioPerine (black pepper extract)Label: BioPerine (Black Pepper Fruit Extract)Per scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 5 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineHow many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Alpha-GPC, 250–600 mg/day: Bellar et al., 2015Marcus et al., 2017.
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- Dietary Nitrate, 310–560 mg: Maughan et al., 2018.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- L-Leucine, 2–3 g: Jäger et al., 2017Kerksick et al., 2018.
- Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 335180.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: creatine HCl is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: the same 131.13 g/mol of creatine sits in 167.59 g/mol of the hydrochloride and 149.15 g/mol of the monohydrate, so 1 g = 0.89 g monohydrate. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.