RSP Nutrition · Pre-workout
Is RSP Nutrition AminoLean underdosed?
None of the 3 key ingredients can be shown to reach a research dose.
12 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend. guarana adds caffeine the label doesn't quantify.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 0
- Hidden in a blend
- 12
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Chloride (Sodium Chloride)Per scoop 60 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Contains 80 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains 0.45–5.00 g. Studies use 1–6 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 2nd of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤2.50 g.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: CarnoSyn (Beta-Alanine)Per scoop In a blendStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 3rd of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤1.67 g. Even that maximum is below the 3.2–6.4 g/day studies use.
Amount not disclosed. As the 4th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤1.25 g. Even that maximum is below the 2–3 g studies use.
Amount not disclosed. As the 5th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤1.00 g. Even that maximum is below the 0.15 g/kg studies use.
Amount not disclosed. As the 6th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤0.83 g. Even that maximum is below the 4–5.33 g studies use.
Amount not disclosed. As the 7th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤0.71 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 8th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤0.63 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 9th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤0.56 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 10th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤0.50 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 11th of 11 ingredients in the 5 g Amino Acid Blend, it contains ≤0.45 g.
- L-Carnitine-L-TartratePer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Conjugated Linoleic Acid [53%]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Green Tea Leaf Extract (Camellia sinensis Leaf Extract ) [std. to 50% EGCG]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Green Coffee Bean Extract (Coffea robusta Bean Extract) [std. to 50% Chlorogenic Acids]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- CaffeineLabel: InnovaTea (Caffeine, Natural) [96% from Tea]Per scoop In a blendStudies 3–6 mg/kgHidden in a blendEvidence: Strong
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 3 ingredients in the 130 mg Energy and Focus Blend, it contains 43–130 mg. Even that maximum is below the 3–6 mg/kg studies use.
Guarana can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
- Matcha (Camellia sinensis) [Organic]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/11 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- Taurine · 1st0.45–5.00 g
- L-Glutamine · 2nd≤2.50 g
- Beta-Alanine · 3rd≤1.67 g
- L-Leucine · 4th≤1.25 g
- L-Arginine · 5th≤1.00 g
- L-Citrulline · 6th≤0.83 g
- L-Isoleucine · 7th≤0.71 g
- L-Valine · 8th≤0.63 g
- L-Phenylalanine · 9th≤0.56 g
- L-Threonine · 10th≤0.50 g
- L-Methionine · 11th≤0.45 g
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/4 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/3 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third.
- Caffeine · 1st43–130 mg
- Guarana · 2nd≤65 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- L-Arginine, 0.15 g/kg: Viribay et al., 2020.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- L-Leucine, 2–3 g: Jäger et al., 2017Kerksick et al., 2018.
- Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 310389.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.