Transparent Labs · Pre-workout

Is Transparent Labs LEAN underdosed?

1 scoop = 14.2 g30 scoopsLabel as of 25 Jul 2024 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 3 of 4 key ingredients.

Beta-Alanine, Betaine Anhydrous and Caffeine are below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.

Effective dose
2
Below research dose
3
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • Zinc (Zinc Amino Acid Chelate)Per scoop 15 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Copper (Copper Amino Acid Chelate)Per scoop 1 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Iodine (Iodine Chelate)Per scoop 225 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Chromium (Chromax)Per scoop 200 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Selenium (L-Selenomethionine)Per scoop 55 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • L-CitrullineLabel: Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 4 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 4 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 2 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • Betaine AnhydrousLabel: BetaPure (Betaine Anhydrous)Per scoop 1.5 gStudies 2.5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 1.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day. Betaine Anhydrous works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • Acetyl-L-Carnitine HydrochloridePer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • CholineLabel: Choline BitartratePer scoop 206 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 206 mg. Not graded: most people get enough choline from food, and a review of the exercise studies found supplements might only help endurance when very long, hard exercise lowers blood choline (Penry and Manore, 2008).

    ASSUMPTION: choline bitartrate (1:1) is counted as the choline in it: 104.17 ÷ 253.25 g/mol = 41.1% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the choline itself.

  • L-TheaninePer scoop 180 mgStudies 100–200 mgEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 180 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.

  • CaffeineLabel: PurCaf (Caffeine) [organic caffeine]Per scoop 180 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 180 mg (2.4 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • TheobrominePer scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 50 mg. Not graded: there is no peer-reviewed exercise trial, and 100–400 mg did not change mood or alertness in human studies.

  • BioPerine (black pepper extract)Label: Bioperine (Black Pepper Fruit Extract)Per scoop 5 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 5 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.

  • Huperzine APer scoop 100 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 100 mcg. Not graded: its one exercise trial found no effect. It is a prescription drug in China and not authorised as a food or supplement ingredient in the EU.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

How many scoops would it take?

To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

Beta-Alanine to 3.2 g
1.6 scoops
brings 288 mg caffeine
Betaine Anhydrous to 2.5 g
1.7 scoops
brings 300 mg caffeine
Caffeine to 225 mg
1.3 scoops
brings 225 mg caffeine

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  2. Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
  3. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  4. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  5. L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
  6. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  7. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 309959.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure. ASSUMPTION: choline bitartrate (1:1) is counted as the choline in it: 104.17 ÷ 253.25 g/mol = 41.1% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the choline itself.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.