Airborne · Vitamin C · Tablets

Is Airborne Citrus Chewable Tablets underdosed?

1 serving = 4 tabletsDirections: 1 serving a dayLabel as of 11 Oct 2026 · Brand's product page

Verdict

1 g a dayas the label directs · studies use 200–1,000 mg a day · RDA 90 mg · upper limit 2,000 mg

Effective dose

Taken as the label directs (1 serving a day, 1 g each), it gives 1 g a day. Studies of vitamin C supplements use 200–1,000 mg a day; the RDA is 90 mg for men and 75 mg for women, and the US upper limit is 2,000 mg a day. In the same studies, single doses of 500 mg or more were absorbed less than smaller ones.

One tablet gives 250 mg, enough on its own for the low end of what studies use (200 mg); it ranks 1st of 21 vitamin C supplements here by dose.

1 tablet a day reaches 200 mg.

What the label says

Vitamin C per serving
1 g in 4 tablets
Servings a day
1 serving a day
Vitamin C a day, as directed
1 g
Reference
studies use 200–1,000 mg a day · RDA 90 mg · upper limit 2,000 mg Evidence: Moderate
Adults and Children 14 years of age and older: Chew four (4) tablets daily. Children 4 years of age and older: Chew two (2) tablets daily. Not for younger children.
The label's directions, as printed.

Also on the label

IngredientPer servingVerdict
Vitamin A (as retinyl palmitate)180 mcgNot graded
Vitamin D (as cholecalciferol)38 mcgNot graded
Vitamin E (as dl-alpha tocopheryl acetate)3 mgNot graded
Zinc (as zinc sulfate)11 mgNot graded
Selenium (as selenium amino acid chelate)11 mcgNot graded
Manganese (as manganese gluconate)460 mcgNot graded
Sodium40 mgNot graded
Lonicera japonica (flower)Not statedNot graded
Forsythia suspensa (fruit)Not statedNot graded
Schizonepeta tenuifolia (aerial)Not statedNot graded
Ginger (Zingiber officinale [root])Not statedNot graded
Vitex trifolia (fruit)Not statedNot graded
Isatis tinctoria (root)Not statedNot graded
Echinacea purpurea (aerial)Not statedNot graded

More about vitamin c: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 21 vitamin C supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 200–1,000 mg a day · RDA 90 mg · upper limit 2,000 mg; servings counted to 200 mg.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
Airborne Citrus Chewable Tablets (this product)1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid and sodium ascorbate
Airborne Original Effervescent Tablets1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
Beekeeper's Naturals Propolis + Vitamin C Liposomal1 g1 or lessLiquids · ascorbic acid & sodium ascorbate
Dr. Mercola Liposomal Vitamin C 1,000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Emergen-C 1,000 mg Vitamin C1 g1 or lessPowders · ascorbic acid, zinc ascorbate
MegaFood Liposomal Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Member's Mark Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
NOW Foods C-10001 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
NutraBio Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Puritan's Pride C-1000 mg1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
Puritan's Pride Ester-C1 g1 or lessCapsules · ester-c
Solaray Buffered Super Bio Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · acerola cherry, ascorbic acid, rose hip
Twinlab C-1000 Caps1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Airborne Original Gummies750 mg1 or lessGummies · ascorbic acid, sodium ascorbate
Pure Encapsulations Ester-C & Flavonoids619 mg1 or lessCapsules · ester-c calcium ascorbate
Amazon Elements Whole Food Vitamin C 500 mg500 mg1 or lessCapsules · acerola extract, ascorbic acid
Bluebonnet Vitamin C 500 mg500 mg1 or lessCapsules · l-ascorbic acid
Garden of Life Vitamin Code Raw Vitamin C500 mg1 or lessCapsules · saccharomyces cerevisiae
Nature Made Vitamin C 500 mg500 mg1 or lessTablets
Source Naturals C-10001 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
Sports Research Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Vitamin C, 200–1000 mg/day: Frei et al., 2012; Gonzalez et al., 2026; Levine et al., 1996.

For a supplement taken every day we judge the most the label's directions give in a day, and show the least. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.