Garden of Life · Vitamin C · Capsules

Is Garden of Life Vitamin Code Raw Vitamin C underdosed?

1 serving = 2 capsulesDirections: 1 serving a dayLabel as of 23 Jan 2025 · NIH DSLD

Verdict

500 mg a dayas the label directs · studies use 200–1,000 mg a day · RDA 90 mg · upper limit 2,000 mg

Effective dose

Taken as the label directs (1 serving a day, 500 mg each), it gives 500 mg a day. Studies of vitamin C supplements use 200–1,000 mg a day; the RDA is 90 mg for men and 75 mg for women, and the US upper limit is 2,000 mg a day. In the same studies, single doses of 500 mg or more were absorbed less than smaller ones.

One capsule gives 250 mg, enough on its own for the low end of what studies use (200 mg); it ranks 18th of 21 vitamin C supplements here by dose.

1 capsule a day reaches 200 mg.

What the label says

Vitamin C per serving
500 mg in 2 capsules
Servings a day
1 serving a day
Vitamin C a day, as directed
500 mg
Reference
studies use 200–1,000 mg a day · RDA 90 mg · upper limit 2,000 mg Evidence: Moderate
Suggested use: Adults take 2 capsules daily. May be taken with or without food. Capsules may be opened and contents may be added to water or juice.
The label's directions, as printed.

Also on the label

IngredientPer servingVerdict
Apple [organic]Not statedNot graded
Dietary NitrateNot statedHidden in a blend
Broccoli (Broccoli, Broccoli) [organic]Not statedNot graded
Carrot [organic]Not statedNot graded
Spinach [organic]Not statedNot graded
Tomato [organic]Not statedNot graded
Strawberry [organic]Not statedNot graded
Tart Cherry [organic]Not statedNot graded
Blackberry [organic]Not statedNot graded
Citrus BioflavonoidsNot statedNot graded
Green Bell Pepper [organic]Not statedNot graded
Brussels Sprout [organic]Not statedNot graded
Blueberry [organic]Not statedNot graded
Ginger [organic]Not statedNot graded
Garlic [organic]Not statedNot graded
Green Onion [organic]Not statedNot graded
Raspberry [organic]Not statedNot graded
Parsley [organic]Not statedNot graded
Cauliflower (Cauliflower, Cauliflower) [organic]Not statedNot graded
Red Cabbage [organic]Not statedNot graded
Kale [organic]Not statedNot graded
Cucumber [organic]Not statedNot graded
Celery [organic]Not statedNot graded
Asparagus (Asparagus, Asparagus) [organic]Not statedNot graded
LipaseNot statedNot graded
ProteaseNot statedNot graded
AspergillopepsinNot statedNot graded
Beta-GlucanaseNot statedNot graded
CellulaseNot statedNot graded
BromelainNot statedNot graded
PhytaseNot statedNot graded
LactaseNot statedNot graded
PapainNot statedNot graded
PeptidaseNot statedNot graded
PectinaseNot statedNot graded
HemicellulaseNot statedNot graded
XylanaseNot statedNot graded
Lactobacillus (Lactobacillus bulgaricus, Lactobacillus plantarum) [500 million CFU]Not statedNot graded

More about vitamin c: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 21 vitamin C supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 200–1,000 mg a day · RDA 90 mg · upper limit 2,000 mg; servings counted to 200 mg.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
Airborne Citrus Chewable Tablets1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid and sodium ascorbate
Airborne Original Effervescent Tablets1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
Beekeeper's Naturals Propolis + Vitamin C Liposomal1 g1 or lessLiquids · ascorbic acid & sodium ascorbate
Dr. Mercola Liposomal Vitamin C 1,000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Emergen-C 1,000 mg Vitamin C1 g1 or lessPowders · ascorbic acid, zinc ascorbate
MegaFood Liposomal Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Member's Mark Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
NOW Foods C-10001 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
NutraBio Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Puritan's Pride C-1000 mg1 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
Puritan's Pride Ester-C1 g1 or lessCapsules · ester-c
Solaray Buffered Super Bio Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · acerola cherry, ascorbic acid, rose hip
Twinlab C-1000 Caps1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid
Airborne Original Gummies750 mg1 or lessGummies · ascorbic acid, sodium ascorbate
Pure Encapsulations Ester-C & Flavonoids619 mg1 or lessCapsules · ester-c calcium ascorbate
Amazon Elements Whole Food Vitamin C 500 mg500 mg1 or lessCapsules · acerola extract, ascorbic acid
Bluebonnet Vitamin C 500 mg500 mg1 or lessCapsules · l-ascorbic acid
Garden of Life Vitamin Code Raw Vitamin C (this product)500 mg1 or lessCapsules · saccharomyces cerevisiae
Nature Made Vitamin C 500 mg500 mg1 or lessTablets
Source Naturals C-10001 g1 or lessTablets · ascorbic acid
Sports Research Vitamin C 1000 mg1 g1 or lessCapsules · ascorbic acid

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Vitamin C, 200–1000 mg/day: Frei et al., 2012; Gonzalez et al., 2026; Levine et al., 1996.
  2. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 321399, including its servings a day.

For a supplement taken every day we judge the most the label's directions give in a day, and show the least. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.