NOW Sports · BCAA · Powder

Is NOW Sports BCAA Big 6 underdosed?

1 serving = 1 scoop (19 g)Directions: 1 serving a dayLabel as of 24 Oct 2024 · NIH DSLD

Verdict

Not stated per servingone dose · studies use 2–3 g of l-leucine

Hidden in a blend

The label doesn't say how much leucine is in its BCAAs (5 g in all). Studies use 2–3 g of leucine in one dose.

It ranks 22nd of 23 BCAA supplements here by dose.

Amino acids, one by one

BCAAs are three of the nine essential amino acids, and this label lists no others (no lysine, threonine, phenylalanine, methionine, histidine or tryptophan). The ISSN's 2018 review advises all nine: in the study it describes, BCAAs alone raised muscle protein synthesis less than whey protein giving the same BCAAs.

Each essential amino acid in one serving, against a10 gdose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern
Amino acidIn one servingIn 10 g at the WHO patternShare
LeucineNot stated2.12 gHidden
IsoleucineNot stated1.09 gHidden
ValineNot stated1.41 gHidden
Lysine—1.63 gNot listed
Threonine—815 mgNot listed
PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosine—1.36 gNot listed
MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteine—815 mgNot listed
Histidine—543 mgNot listed
Tryptophan—217 mgNot listed

How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.

What the label says

L-Leucine per serving
Not stated in 1 scoop (19 g)
Servings a day
1 serving a day
Research dose
2–3 g Evidence: Moderate
Suggested Usage: Add 1 level scoop of BCAA Big 6 to a glass or shaker cup filled with 14-16 oz. of water or your favorite beverage. Stir or shake vigorously for about 15-20 seconds to ensure a good mix. Can be taken before, during, or after exercise.
The label's directions, as printed.

Also on the label

IngredientPer servingVerdict
Sodium240 mgNot graded
Betaine Anhydrous1.5 gBelow research dose
L-Citrulline1 gBelow research dose
L-Glutamine1 gNot graded
Taurine1 gEffective dose

More about l-leucine: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 23 BCAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 2–3 g of l-leucine; servings counted to 2 g.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
ALLMAX Aminocore BCAA3.68 g1 or lessPowders
BulkSupplements.com BCAA 2:1:13 g1 or lessPowders
MusclePharm Essentials BCAA3 g1 or lessPowders
MuscleTech Amino Build4 g1 or lessPowders
Transparent Labs BCAA Glutamine4 g1 or lessPowders
XTEND The Original BCAA3.5 g1 or lessPowders
California Gold Nutrition Sport BCAA2.5 g1 or lessPowders
Doctor's Best Instantized BCAA Powder2.5 g1 or lessPowders
EVLution Nutrition BCAA 50002.5 g1 or lessPowders
EVLution Nutrition BCAA Energy2.5 g1 or lessPowders
Kaged BCAA 2:1:12.5 g1 or lessPowders
Lake Avenue Nutrition Instantized BCAA2.5 g1 or lessPowders
NutraBio BCAA 50002.5 g1 or lessPowders
Clean Machine Clean BCAA2 g1 or lessPowders
Swanson BCAA1.02 g2 at onceCapsules
Nutricost BCAA 1000 mg500 mg4 at onceCapsules
Universal Nutrition BCAA Pro500 mg4 at onceCapsules
ALLMAX Essentials BCAANot stated—Powders
BSN Amino XNot stated—Powders
InnoSupps Natural BCAANot stated—Powders
MTN OPS BCAANot stated—Powders
NOW Sports BCAA Big 6 (this product)Not stated—Powders
Nutricost BCAA+Not stated—Powders

Where the reference doses come from

  1. L-Leucine, 2–3 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
  2. The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.
  3. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 314243, including its servings a day.

For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.