EVLution Nutrition · BCAA · Powder

Is EVLution Nutrition BCAA Energy underdosed?

1 serving = 8.4 g of powderDirections: 1–1.5 servings a dayLabel as of 24 Jan 2024 · NIH DSLD

Verdict

2.5 g per servingone dose · studies use 2–3 g of l-leucine

Effective dose

One serving contains 2.5 g; studies use 2–3 g in one dose. The label's directions allow 1–1.5 servings a day.

One serving gives 2.5 g, enough on its own for the low end of what studies use (2 g); it ranks 10th of 23 BCAA supplements here by dose.

Amino acids, one by one

BCAAs are three of the nine essential amino acids, and this label lists no others (no lysine, threonine, phenylalanine, methionine, histidine or tryptophan). The ISSN's 2018 review advises all nine: in the study it describes, BCAAs alone raised muscle protein synthesis less than whey protein giving the same BCAAs.

Each essential amino acid in one serving, against a10 gdose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern
Amino acidIn one servingIn 10 g at the WHO patternShare
Leucine2.5 g2.12 gReaches · 118%
Isoleucine1.25 g1.09 gReaches · 115%
Valine1.25 g1.41 gBelow · 88%
Lysine—1.63 gNot listed
Threonine—815 mgNot listed
PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosine—1.36 gNot listed
MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteine—815 mgNot listed
Histidine—543 mgNot listed
Tryptophan—217 mgNot listed

How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.

What the label says

L-Leucine per serving
2.5 g in 8.4 g of powder
Servings a day
1–1.5 servings a day
L-Leucine a day, as directed
2.5–3.75 g
Research dose
2–3 g Evidence: Moderate
Suggested Use: As a dietary supplement, mix 2 scoops of BCAA energy in 8-10 oz of cold water (vary amount of water by taste preference). For anytime energy & BCAAs: Use 1 serving (2 scoops) For intense training & BCAAs: Use 1.5 servings (3 scoops) For recovery & BCAAs: Use 1 serving (2 scoops)
The label's directions, as printed.

Also on the label

IngredientPer servingVerdict
Vitamin C90 mgNot graded
Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxine Hydrochloride)10 mgNot graded
Vitamin B12 (Methylcobalamin)30 mcgNot graded
Sodium80 mgNot graded
Beta-Alanine500 mgBelow research dose
L-Alanine500 mgNot graded
Taurine500 mgBelow research dose
CaffeineNot statedHidden in a blend
Green Tea ExtractNot statedUnlisted caffeine

More about l-leucine: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 23 BCAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 2–3 g of l-leucine; servings counted to 2 g.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
ALLMAX Aminocore BCAA3.68 g1 or lessPowders
BulkSupplements.com BCAA 2:1:13 g1 or lessPowders
MusclePharm Essentials BCAA3 g1 or lessPowders
MuscleTech Amino Build4 g1 or lessPowders
Transparent Labs BCAA Glutamine4 g1 or lessPowders
XTEND The Original BCAA3.5 g1 or lessPowders
California Gold Nutrition Sport BCAA2.5 g1 or lessPowders
Doctor's Best Instantized BCAA Powder2.5 g1 or lessPowders
EVLution Nutrition BCAA 50002.5 g1 or lessPowders
EVLution Nutrition BCAA Energy (this product)2.5 g1 or lessPowders
Kaged BCAA 2:1:12.5 g1 or lessPowders
Lake Avenue Nutrition Instantized BCAA2.5 g1 or lessPowders
NutraBio BCAA 50002.5 g1 or lessPowders
Clean Machine Clean BCAA2 g1 or lessPowders
Swanson BCAA1.02 g2 at onceCapsules
Nutricost BCAA 1000 mg500 mg4 at onceCapsules
Universal Nutrition BCAA Pro500 mg4 at onceCapsules
ALLMAX Essentials BCAANot stated—Powders
BSN Amino XNot stated—Powders
InnoSupps Natural BCAANot stated—Powders
MTN OPS BCAANot stated—Powders
NOW Sports BCAA Big 6Not stated—Powders
Nutricost BCAA+Not stated—Powders

Where the reference doses come from

  1. L-Leucine, 2–3 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
  2. The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.
  3. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 302081, including its servings a day.

For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.