Nutricost · BCAA · Powder
Is Nutricost BCAA+ underdosed?
Verdict
Not stated per servingone dose · studies use 2–3 g of l-leucine
Hidden in a blendThe label doesn't say how much leucine is in its BCAAs (7 g in all). Studies use 2–3 g of leucine in one dose.
It ranks 23rd of 23 BCAA supplements here by dose.
Amino acids, one by one
BCAAs are three of the nine essential amino acids, and this label lists no others (no lysine, threonine, phenylalanine, methionine, histidine or tryptophan). The ISSN's 2018 review advises all nine: in the study it describes, BCAAs alone raised muscle protein synthesis less than whey protein giving the same BCAAs.
| Amino acid | In one serving | In 10 g at the WHO pattern | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leucine | Not stated | 2.12 g | Hidden |
| Isoleucine | Not stated | 1.09 g | Hidden |
| Valine | Not stated | 1.41 g | Hidden |
| Lysine | — | 1.63 g | Not listed |
| Threonine | — | 815 mg | Not listed |
| PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosine | — | 1.36 g | Not listed |
| MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteine | — | 815 mg | Not listed |
| Histidine | — | 543 mg | Not listed |
| Tryptophan | — | 217 mg | Not listed |
How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.
What the label says
- L-Leucine per serving
- Not stated in 1 scoop (13 g)
- Servings a day
- 1 serving a day
- Research dose
- 2–3 g Evidence: Moderate
Suggested use: As a dietary supplement, mix 1 scoop daily with 8-16 oz of water or as directed by your healthcare professional.
Also on the label
| Ingredient | Per serving | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Calcium (Dicalcium Phosphate) | 65 mg | Not graded |
| Magnesium | 55 mg | Not graded |
| Sodium | 60 mg | Not graded |
| Potassium (Dipotassium Phosphate) | 92 mg | Not graded |
| Coconut Water, Powder | 750 mg | Not graded |
| Himalayan Rock Salt | 150 mg | Not graded |
More about l-leucine: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.
Same category, compared
All 23 BCAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 2–3 g of l-leucine; servings counted to 2 g.
| Product | Per serving | Servings to reach it | Form |
|---|---|---|---|
| ALLMAX Aminocore BCAA | 3.68 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| BulkSupplements.com BCAA 2:1:1 | 3 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| MusclePharm Essentials BCAA | 3 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| MuscleTech Amino Build | 4 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Transparent Labs BCAA Glutamine | 4 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| XTEND The Original BCAA | 3.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| California Gold Nutrition Sport BCAA | 2.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Doctor's Best Instantized BCAA Powder | 2.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| EVLution Nutrition BCAA 5000 | 2.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| EVLution Nutrition BCAA Energy | 2.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Kaged BCAA 2:1:1 | 2.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Lake Avenue Nutrition Instantized BCAA | 2.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| NutraBio BCAA 5000 | 2.5 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Clean Machine Clean BCAA | 2 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Swanson BCAA | 1.02 g | 2 at once | Capsules |
| Nutricost BCAA 1000 mg | 500 mg | 4 at once | Capsules |
| Universal Nutrition BCAA Pro | 500 mg | 4 at once | Capsules |
| ALLMAX Essentials BCAA | Not stated | — | Powders |
| BSN Amino X | Not stated | — | Powders |
| InnoSupps Natural BCAA | Not stated | — | Powders |
| MTN OPS BCAA | Not stated | — | Powders |
| NOW Sports BCAA Big 6 | Not stated | — | Powders |
| Nutricost BCAA+ (this product) | Not stated | — | Powders |
Where the reference doses come from
- L-Leucine, 2–3 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
- The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 307773, including its servings a day.
For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.