Beyond Raw · Pre-workout

Is Beyond Raw LIT AF underdosed?

1 scoop = 23 g20 scoopsLabel as of 25 Sep 2025 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 1 of 5 key ingredients.

Creatine Monohydrate is below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is in the research range.

Effective dose
7
Below research dose
1
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • CalciumPer scoop 150 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • SodiumPer scoop 40 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 40 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).

  • PotassiumPer scoop 200 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • L-CitrullineLabel: L-Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 5.33 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 5.33 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 3.2 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 3.2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day.

  • Betaine AnhydrousLabel: BetaPower (Betaine Anhydrous)Per scoop 2.5 gStudies 2.5 g/dayEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 2.5 g; studies use 2.5 g/day.

  • Creatine MonohydrateLabel: Creatine (Creatine Monohydrate)Per scoop 2 gStudies 3–5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 2 g; studies use 3–5 g/day. Creatine Monohydrate works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • Arginine Silicate (Nitrosigine)Label: Nitrosigine (Arginine Silicate Inositol) [Arginine Silicate Inositol complex]Per scoop 1.5 gStudies 1.5 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 1.5 g; studies use 1.5 g.

  • TaurinePer scoop 1 gStudies 1–6 gEffective doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 1 g; studies use 1–6 g.

  • ATP (Adenosine 5'-Triphosphate)Label: Peak ATP (Adenosine 5' Triphosphate Disodium)Per scoop 400 mgStudies 400 mgEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 400 mg; studies use 400 mg.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous [rapid release]; ZumXR (Caffeine) [target release]Per scoop 300 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 300 mg (4 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • Alpha-GlycerophosphocholinePer scoop 150 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

How many scoops would it take?

To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

Creatine Monohydrate to 3 g
1.5 scoops
brings 450 mg caffeine

Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Arginine Silicate (Nitrosigine), 1.5 g: Kalman et al., 2016Rogers et al., 2020.
  2. ATP (Adenosine 5'-Triphosphate), 400 mg: Fambrini et al., 2024González-Marenco et al., 2024.
  3. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  4. Betaine Anhydrous, 2.5 g/day: Cholewa et al., 2013Hoffman et al., 2009Zawieja et al., 2024.
  5. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  6. Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
  7. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  8. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
  9. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  10. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 335662.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.