Cellucor · Pre-workout
Is Cellucor C4 Ripped underdosed?
Below research dose on 2 of 2 key ingredients.
Beta-Alanine and Caffeine are below the amounts studies use. 2 ingredients sit in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg, plus an unlisted amount from coffee bean extract.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 2
- Hidden in a blend
- 2
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- Vitamin CLabel: Vitamin C (Ascorbic Acid)Per scoop 250 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 250 mg. A vitamin or mineral: we grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Niacin (Niacinamide)Per scoop 30 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Vitamin B6 (Pyridoxal 5-Phosphate)Per scoop 500 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Folic AcidPer scoop 250 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Vitamin B12 (Methylcobalamin)Per scoop 35 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
- Beta-AlanineLabel: CarnoSyn (Beta-Alanine)Per scoop 1.6 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 1.6 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
- Arginine Alpha-KetoglutaratePer scoop 1 gStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.
- L-Carnitine L-TartrateLabel: L-Carnitine TartratePer scoop In a blendStudies 3 g/dayHidden in a blendEvidence: Weak
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 4 ingredients in the 1 g C4 Ripped Blend, it contains 0.25–1.00 g. Even that maximum is below the 3 g/day studies use.
- Coffee Bean ExtractLabel: Green Coffee Bean Extract (Chlorogenic Acid) [standardized for chlorogenic acids]Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setUnlisted caffeineEvidence: Not graded
Coffee Bean Extract can contain caffeine, and the label doesn't say how much it adds.
- Capsimax Cayenne (Capsicum annuum) fruit extractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- Coleus forskohlii Root ExtractPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 3 ingredients in the 371 mg Explosive Energy Blend, it contains 124–371 mg.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine AnhydrousPer scoop 150 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 150 mg (2 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- Velvet Bean (Mucuna pruriens) seed extract (L-Dopa)Per scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/4 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third, and so on.
- L-Carnitine L-Tartrate · 1st0.25–1.00 g
- Coffee Bean Extract · 2nd≤0.50 g
US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/3 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half, the 3rd at most a third.
- N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine · 1st124–371 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- L-Carnitine L-Tartrate, 3 g/day: Stefan et al., 2021Volek et al., 2002.
- Vitamin C, 200–1000 mg/day: Frei et al., 2012Gonzalez et al., 2026Levine et al., 1996.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 291627.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.