ProSupps · Pre-workout

Is ProSupps Mr. Hyde Xtreme underdosed?

1 scoop = 7.4 g30 scoopsLabel as of 23 Aug 2023 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 2 of 3 key ingredients.

Beta-Alanine and Creatine Monohydrate are below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is in the research range.

Effective dose
1
Below research dose
3
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • NiacinPer scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • Beta-AlanineLabel: Beta AlaninePer scoop 2.5 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 2.5 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • Creatine MonohydrateLabel: Creatine HClPer scoop 890 mgStudies 3–5 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 890 mg; studies use 3–5 g/day. Creatine Monohydrate works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

    ASSUMPTION: creatine HCl is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: the same 131.13 g/mol of creatine sits in 167.59 g/mol of the hydrochloride and 149.15 g/mol of the monohydrate, so 1 g = 0.89 g monohydrate. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself.

  • Arginine Silicate InositolPer scoop 500 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.

  • L-Citrulline AspartatePer scoop 500 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: the label gives it in a form or blend we can't turn into a dose (no stated ratio or amount), so it isn't counted. See the methodology.

  • CholineLabel: Choline BitartratePer scoop 206 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 206 mg. Not graded: most people get enough choline from food, and a review of the exercise studies found supplements might only help endurance when very long, hard exercise lowers blood choline (Penry and Manore, 2008).

    ASSUMPTION: choline bitartrate (1:1) is counted as the choline in it: 104.17 ÷ 253.25 g/mol = 41.1% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the choline itself.

  • L-TheaninePer scoop 50 mgStudies 100–200 mgBelow research doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 50 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.

  • N-Acetyl TyrosinePer scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • TheacrineLabel: TeaCrine (Theacrine)Per scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 25 mg. Not graded: on its own it did not improve a 4 km cycling time trial, canoe sprints or field tests in three trials, and 6 mg per kg raised resting blood pressure (2022–2025).

  • Gamma-Aminobutyric AcidPer scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Yohimbe Bark ExtractPer scoop 3 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a stimulant we have no research dose for. Its effects add to the caffeine's.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Di-Caffeine Malate; Caffeine AnhydrousPer scoop 378 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgEffective doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 378 mg (5 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • Citric AcidPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

Caffeine Citric Acid Blend
Proprietary blend · 2 ingredients · amounts not disclosed
50 mg total

US labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/2 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half.

    How many scoops would it take?

    To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

    Beta-Alanine to 3.2 g
    1.3 scoops
    brings 484 mg caffeine
    Creatine Monohydrate to 3 g
    3.4 scoops
    brings 1274 mg caffeine

    Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.

    Where the reference doses come from

    1. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
    2. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
    3. Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
    4. L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
    5. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
    6. Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
    7. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 295382.

    Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: creatine HCl is counted as the creatine monohydrate it equals: the same 131.13 g/mol of creatine sits in 167.59 g/mol of the hydrochloride and 149.15 g/mol of the monohydrate, so 1 g = 0.89 g monohydrate. Used only when the label does not state the creatine itself. ASSUMPTION: choline bitartrate (1:1) is counted as the choline in it: 104.17 ÷ 253.25 g/mol = 41.1% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the choline itself.

    Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.