ProSupps · Pre-workout
Is ProSupps Mr. Hyde underdosed?
Below research dose on 3 of 4 key ingredients.
Beta-Alanine, Creatine Monohydrate and Caffeine are below the amounts studies use. One ingredient sits in an undisclosed blend. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.
- Effective dose
- 0
- Below research dose
- 5
- Hidden in a blend
- 1
- Too much
- 0
Ingredient by ingredient
Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)- NiacinPer scoop 14 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.
Contains 2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
Contains 1 g; studies use 3–5 g/day. Creatine Monohydrate works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.
- Arginine Silicate (Nitrosigine)Label: Nitrosigine (Arginine Silicate Inositol)Per scoop 500 mgStudies 1.5 gBelow research doseEvidence: Weak
Contains 500 mg; studies use 1.5 g.
Amount not disclosed. As the 1st of 2 ingredients in the 500 mg L-Citrulline L-Aspartic Acid, it contains 250–500 mg. Even that maximum is below the 4–5.33 g studies use.
- L-Aspartic AcidPer scoop In a blendStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
Contains 206 mg. Not graded: most people get enough choline from food, and a review of the exercise studies found supplements might only help endurance when very long, hard exercise lowers blood choline (Penry and Manore, 2008).
ASSUMPTION: choline bitartrate (1:1) is counted as the choline in it: 104.17 ÷ 253.25 g/mol = 41.1% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the choline itself.
Contains 26 mg; studies use 100–200 mg.
- N-Acetyl-L-TyrosineLabel: N-Acetyl TyrosinePer scoop 26 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 26 mg. Not graded: a form of L-tyrosine, which isn't graded either (see the L-tyrosine guide).
- Gamma-Aminobutyric AcidPer scoop 13 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.
- CaffeineLabel: Caffeine Anhydrous; Di-Caffeine MalatePer scoop 196 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong
Contains 196 mg (2.6 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.
- TheacrineLabel: TeaCrine (Theacrine) [40%]Per scoop 16 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded
Contains 16 mg. Not graded: on its own it did not improve a 4 km cycling time trial, canoe sprints or field tests in three trials, and 6 mg per kg raised resting blood pressure (2022–2025).
Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.
Effective doseBelow research doseHidden in a blendToo muchNot gradedUnlisted caffeineUS labels must list blend ingredients heaviest first (21 CFR 101.36). So the 1st is at least 1/2 of the blend, the 2nd can be at most half.
- L-Citrulline · 1st250–500 mg
How many scoops would it take?
To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.
Taking more doesn't fix this product. Reaching those doses means more than 400 mg of caffeine from the scoops alone, above the FDA's 400 mg daily reference for most adults, before any coffee.
Where the reference doses come from
- Arginine Silicate (Nitrosigine), 1.5 g: Kalman et al., 2016Rogers et al., 2020.
- Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
- Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
- Creatine Monohydrate, 3–5 g/day: Kreider et al., 2017.
- L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
- L-Theanine, 100–200 mg: Owen et al., 2008Payne et al., 2025.
- Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
- Blend order rule: 21 CFR 101.36.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 333808.
Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: choline bitartrate (1:1) is counted as the choline in it: 104.17 ÷ 253.25 g/mol = 41.1% of the printed weight. Used only when the label does not state the choline itself.
Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.