Optimum Nutrition · EAA · Powder
Is Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy underdosed?
Verdict
Not stated per servingone dose · studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids
Hidden in a blendThe label hides how much of each amino acid its blends hold, so the essential amino acids can't be added up: they come to at most 5 g. Studies use 10–12 g in one dose, so even at most this serving falls short.
It ranks 19th of 20 EAA supplements here by dose.
Amino acids, one by one
The label lists 8 of the nine essential amino acids; it doesn't list tryptophan. It hides how much of each is in its blend, so the balance can't be checked against the WHO pattern.
| Amino acid | In one serving | In 10 g at the WHO pattern | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leucine | Not stated | 2.12 g | Hidden |
| Isoleucine | Not stated | 1.09 g | Hidden |
| Valine | Not stated | 1.41 g | Hidden |
| Lysine | Not stated | 1.63 g | Hidden |
| Threonine | Not stated | 815 mg | Hidden |
| PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosine | Not stated | 1.36 g | Hidden |
| MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteine | Not stated | 815 mg | Hidden |
| Histidine | Not stated | 543 mg | Hidden |
| Tryptophan | — | 217 mg | Not listed |
How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.
What the label says
- Essential Amino Acids per serving
- Not stated in 9 g of powder
- Servings a day
- 1 serving a day
- Research dose
- 10–12 g Evidence: Strong
Two scoops = one serving Scoop # Two scoops Five scoops Six scoops Energy level Mild Moderate Intense Amino level 5 grams 10 grams 15 grams Caffeine 100 mg 200 mg 300 mg Occasion AM wake up Pre-workout energy Post-workout recovery Afternoon pick-me-up Do not exceed 6 scoops in any 4 hour period. Do not exceed 10 scoops per day. Recommended Use: For Pre-Workout Energy Support: Take 2-6 scoops 20-30 minutes before training. For Post-Workout Amino Support: At least 4 hours after initial pre-workout dose, take 2-4 scoops after training. Do not exceed more than 10 scoops per day.
Also on the label
| Ingredient | Per serving | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Taurine | Not stated | Hidden in a blend |
| L-Glutamine | Not stated | Hidden in a blend |
| L-Arginine | Not stated | Hidden in a blend |
| Beta-Alanine | Not stated | Hidden in a blend |
| L-Citrulline | Not stated | Hidden in a blend |
| L-Tyrosine | Not stated | Hidden in a blend |
| Caffeine | Not stated | Hidden in a blend |
| Green Tea Extract | Not stated | Unlisted caffeine |
| Coffee Bean Extract | Not stated | Unlisted caffeine |
More about essential amino acids: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.
Same category, compared
All 20 EAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids; servings counted to 10 g.
| Product | Per serving | Servings to reach it | Form |
|---|---|---|---|
| InnovaPharm Recover EAA | 14.4 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| BulkSupplements.com EAA Powder | 10 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Dymatize All9 Amino | 10 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| GNC Beyond Raw Precision Amino | 9.88 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Evogen Amino K.E.M. | 8.5 g | 1.2 at once | Powders |
| NutraBio Alpha EAA | 8 g | 1.2 at once | Powders |
| NutraBio EAA Pure | 7.84 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| Nutricost EAA Powder | 7.84 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| Nutrex Research EAA + Hydration | 7.74 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| FINAFLEX EAA | 7.53 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| Jacked Factory EAA Surge | 6.7 g | 1.5 at once | Powders |
| Ghost Amino | 5 g | 2 at once | Powders |
| EA Enhanced EAA+ | 4.88 g | 2.1 at once | Powders |
| Kion Aminos | 4.83 g | 2.1 at once | Powders |
| Thorne Amino Complex | 3.82 g | 2.6 at once | Powders |
| Double Wood Essential Amino Acids | 968 mg | 10.3 at once | Capsules |
| BodyHealth Perfect Amino | Not stated | — | Tablets |
| Cellucor Alpha Amino | Not stated | — | Powders |
| Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy (this product) | Not stated | — | Powders |
| PEScience Amino IV | Not stated | — | Powders |
Where the reference doses come from
- Essential Amino Acids, 10–12 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
- The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 270139, including its servings a day.
For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.