Double Wood · EAA · Capsules

Is Double Wood Essential Amino Acids underdosed?

1 serving = 3 capsulesDirections: 1–4 servings a dayLabel as of 11 Oct 2026 · Brand's product page

Verdict

968 mg per servingone dose · studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids

Below research dose

One serving contains 968 mg; studies use 10–12 g in one dose. The label's directions allow 1–4 servings a day.

One capsule gives 323 mg, so reaching the low end of what studies use (10 g) takes 31 capsules at once; it ranks 16th of 20 EAA supplements here by dose.

To reach the research dose. It would take 31 capsules at once (10 g) to reach the 10 g studies use, more than the label's directions, which allow 12 capsules (1–4 servings a day).

Amino acids, one by one

All nine essential amino acids are on the label. 0 of 9 reach what a 10 g dose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern holds. The lowest is methionine: 35 mg, 4% of 815 mg.

Each essential amino acid in one serving, against a10 gdose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern
Amino acidIn one servingIn 10 g at the WHO patternShare
Leucine205 mg2.12 gBelow · 10%
Isoleucine115 mg1.09 gBelow · 11%
Valine141 mg1.41 gBelow · 10%
Lysine185 mg1.63 gBelow · 11%
Threonine141 mg815 mgBelow · 17%
PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosine72 mg1.36 gBelow · 5%
MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteine35 mg815 mgBelow · 4%
Histidine37 mg543 mgBelow · 7%
Tryptophan37 mg217 mgBelow · 17%

How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.

What the label says

Essential Amino Acids per serving
968 mg in 3 capsules
Servings a day
1–4 servings a day
Essential Amino Acids a day, as directed
968 mg–3.87 g
Research dose
10–12 g Evidence: Strong
Take 3 capsules per day on an empty stomach. Do not exceed 12 capsules in 1 day.
The label's directions, as printed.

More about essential amino acids: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 20 EAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids; servings counted to 10 g.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
InnovaPharm Recover EAA14.4 g1 or lessPowders
BulkSupplements.com EAA Powder10 g1 or lessPowders
Dymatize All9 Amino10 g1 or lessPowders
GNC Beyond Raw Precision Amino9.88 g1 or lessPowders
Evogen Amino K.E.M.8.5 g1.2 at oncePowders
NutraBio Alpha EAA8 g1.2 at oncePowders
NutraBio EAA Pure7.84 g1.3 at oncePowders
Nutricost EAA Powder7.84 g1.3 at oncePowders
Nutrex Research EAA + Hydration7.74 g1.3 at oncePowders
FINAFLEX EAA7.53 g1.3 at oncePowders
Jacked Factory EAA Surge6.7 g1.5 at oncePowders
Ghost Amino5 g2 at oncePowders
EA Enhanced EAA+4.88 g2.1 at oncePowders
Kion Aminos4.83 g2.1 at oncePowders
Thorne Amino Complex3.82 g2.6 at oncePowders
Double Wood Essential Amino Acids (this product)968 mg10.3 at onceCapsules
BodyHealth Perfect AminoNot stated—Tablets
Cellucor Alpha AminoNot stated—Powders
Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino EnergyNot stated—Powders
PEScience Amino IVNot stated—Powders

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Essential Amino Acids, 10–12 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
  2. The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.

For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.