PEScience · EAA · Powder

Is PEScience Amino IV underdosed?

1 serving = 2 scoops (13.5 g)Directions: 1 serving a dayLabel as of 24 Oct 2024 · NIH DSLD

Verdict

Not stated per servingone dose · studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids

Hidden in a blend

The label hides how much of each amino acid its blends hold, so the essential amino acids can't be added up: they come to between 5 g and 8.1 g. Studies use 10–12 g in one dose, so even at most this serving falls short.

It ranks 20th of 20 EAA supplements here by dose.

Amino acids, one by one

All nine essential amino acids are on the label. It hides how much of each is in its blend, so the balance can't be checked against the WHO pattern.

Each essential amino acid in one serving, against a10 gdose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern
Amino acidIn one servingIn 10 g at the WHO patternShare
LeucineNot stated2.12 gHidden
IsoleucineNot stated1.09 gHidden
ValineNot stated1.41 gHidden
LysineNot stated1.63 gHidden
ThreonineNot stated815 mgHidden
PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosineNot stated1.36 gHidden
MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteineNot stated815 mgHidden
HistidineNot stated543 mgHidden
TryptophanNot stated217 mgHidden

How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.

What the label says

Essential Amino Acids per serving
Not stated in 2 scoops (13.5 g)
Servings a day
1 serving a day
Research dose
10–12 g Evidence: Strong
Directions: Mix 2 level scoops in 12-20 ounces of water. Adjust the amount of water to achieve desired taste. Drink during workouts or athletic events. Additional servings can be taken throughout the day on training and non-training days. For best results consume at least 2 level scoops per day.
The label's directions, as printed.

Also on the label

IngredientPer servingVerdict
Calcium (Calcium Glycerophosphate)50 mgNot graded
Potassium (Potassium Citrate)99 mgNot graded
Magnesium50 mgNot graded
Sodium50 mgNot graded
TaurineNot statedHidden in a blend

More about essential amino acids: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 20 EAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids; servings counted to 10 g.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
InnovaPharm Recover EAA14.4 g1 or lessPowders
BulkSupplements.com EAA Powder10 g1 or lessPowders
Dymatize All9 Amino10 g1 or lessPowders
GNC Beyond Raw Precision Amino9.88 g1 or lessPowders
Evogen Amino K.E.M.8.5 g1.2 at oncePowders
NutraBio Alpha EAA8 g1.2 at oncePowders
NutraBio EAA Pure7.84 g1.3 at oncePowders
Nutricost EAA Powder7.84 g1.3 at oncePowders
Nutrex Research EAA + Hydration7.74 g1.3 at oncePowders
FINAFLEX EAA7.53 g1.3 at oncePowders
Jacked Factory EAA Surge6.7 g1.5 at oncePowders
Ghost Amino5 g2 at oncePowders
EA Enhanced EAA+4.88 g2.1 at oncePowders
Kion Aminos4.83 g2.1 at oncePowders
Thorne Amino Complex3.82 g2.6 at oncePowders
Double Wood Essential Amino Acids968 mg10.3 at onceCapsules
BodyHealth Perfect AminoNot stated—Tablets
Cellucor Alpha AminoNot stated—Powders
Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino EnergyNot stated—Powders
PEScience Amino IV (this product)Not stated—Powders

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Essential Amino Acids, 10–12 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
  2. The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.
  3. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 318586, including its servings a day.

For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.