Kion · EAA · Powder

Is Kion Aminos underdosed?

1 serving = 1 scoop (6.58 g)Label as of 9 Oct 2026 · Brand's product page

Verdict

4.83 g per servingone dose · studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids

Below research dose

One serving contains 4.83 g; studies use 10–12 g in one dose.

One serving gives 4.83 g, so reaching the low end of what studies use (10 g) takes 2.1 servings at once; it ranks 14th of 20 EAA supplements here by dose.

To reach the research dose. It would take 3 servings at once (3 scoops), 14.49 g, to reach the 10 g studies use.

Amino acids, one by one

All nine essential amino acids are on the label. 0 of 9 reach what a 10 g dose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern holds. The lowest is tryptophan: 3.5 mg, 2% of 217 mg.

Each essential amino acid in one serving, against a10 gdose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern
Amino acidIn one servingIn 10 g at the WHO patternShare
Leucine2 g2.12 gBelow · 94%
Isoleucine550 mg1.09 gBelow · 51%
Valine500 mg1.41 gBelow · 35%
Lysine680 mg1.63 gBelow · 42%
Threonine475 mg815 mgBelow · 58%
PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosine350 mg1.36 gBelow · 26%
MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteine200 mg815 mgBelow · 25%
Histidine72 mg543 mgBelow · 13%
Tryptophan3.5 mg217 mgBelow · 2%

How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.

What the label says

Essential Amino Acids per serving
4.83 g in 1 scoop (6.58 g)
Servings a day
The label doesn't say
Research dose
10–12 g Evidence: Strong

More about essential amino acids: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.

Same category, compared

All 20 EAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids; servings counted to 10 g.

ProductPer servingServings to reach itForm
InnovaPharm Recover EAA14.4 g1 or lessPowders
BulkSupplements.com EAA Powder10 g1 or lessPowders
Dymatize All9 Amino10 g1 or lessPowders
GNC Beyond Raw Precision Amino9.88 g1 or lessPowders
Evogen Amino K.E.M.8.5 g1.2 at oncePowders
NutraBio Alpha EAA8 g1.2 at oncePowders
NutraBio EAA Pure7.84 g1.3 at oncePowders
Nutricost EAA Powder7.84 g1.3 at oncePowders
Nutrex Research EAA + Hydration7.74 g1.3 at oncePowders
FINAFLEX EAA7.53 g1.3 at oncePowders
Jacked Factory EAA Surge6.7 g1.5 at oncePowders
Ghost Amino5 g2 at oncePowders
EA Enhanced EAA+4.88 g2.1 at oncePowders
Kion Aminos (this product)4.83 g2.1 at oncePowders
Thorne Amino Complex3.82 g2.6 at oncePowders
Double Wood Essential Amino Acids968 mg10.3 at onceCapsules
BodyHealth Perfect AminoNot stated—Tablets
Cellucor Alpha AminoNot stated—Powders
Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino EnergyNot stated—Powders
PEScience Amino IVNot stated—Powders

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Essential Amino Acids, 10–12 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
  2. The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.

For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.