NutraBio · EAA · Powder
Is NutraBio EAA Pure underdosed?
Verdict
7.84 g per servingone dose · studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids
Below research doseOne serving contains 7.84 g; studies use 10–12 g in one dose. The label's directions allow 1–3 servings a day.
One serving gives 7.84 g, so reaching the low end of what studies use (10 g) takes 1.3 servings at once; it ranks 7th of 20 EAA supplements here by dose.
To reach the research dose. It would take 2 servings at once (2 scoops), 15.68 g, to reach the 10 g studies use.
Amino acids, one by one
All nine essential amino acids are on the label. 4 of 9 reach what a 10 g dose shaped like the WHO adult requirement pattern holds. The lowest is methionine: 13 mg, 2% of 815 mg.
| Amino acid | In one serving | In 10 g at the WHO pattern | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leucine | 3 g | 2.12 g | Reaches · 142% |
| Isoleucine | 1.5 g | 1.09 g | Reaches · 138% |
| Valine | 1.5 g | 1.41 g | Reaches · 106% |
| Lysine | 680 mg | 1.63 g | Below · 42% |
| Threonine | 850 mg | 815 mg | Reaches · 104% |
| PhenylalanineWHO figure: phenylalanine + tyrosine | 150 mg | 1.36 g | Below · 11% |
| MethionineWHO figure: methionine + cysteine | 13 mg | 815 mg | Below · 2% |
| Histidine | 74 mg | 543 mg | Below · 14% |
| Tryptophan | 75 mg | 217 mg | Below · 35% |
How this works: the WHO's adult requirement for each essential amino acid (WHO/FAO/UNU 2007, Table 23), scaled to a 10 g dose, the low end of the 10–12 g of essential amino acids in one dose in the ISSN's 2018 review. No study gave these amino acids one at a time at these amounts: it shows how a serving's mix compares with what the body needs, not a dose of each. The WHO figures for methionine and phenylalanine include cysteine and tyrosine, which the body can make; tyrosine is counted when the label lists it. Salt forms are counted as the amino acid in them (lysine hydrochloride as 80% lysine), and a DL form as half L.
What the label says
- Essential Amino Acids per serving
- 7.84 g in 1 scoop (13.8 g)
- Servings a day
- 1–3 servings a day
- Essential Amino Acids a day, as directed
- 7.84–23.53 g
- Research dose
- 10–12 g Evidence: Strong
Suggested use: Mix 1 scoop with 10-16 ounces of water. Consume before, during or after exercise or sip throughout the day as a healthy energy drink substitute. Try adding 3 scoops in a gallon jug to bring with you wherever you go.
Also on the label
| Ingredient | Per serving | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Taurine | 1.2 g | Effective dose |
| L-Alanine [HPLC] | 600 mg | Not graded |
| CocoPure (Coconut Water, Powder) | 500 mg | Not graded |
| AstraGin | 50 mg | Not graded |
More about essential amino acids: forms, timing and the studies behind the dose.
Same category, compared
All 20 EAA supplements we checked, ranked by dose (commission never changes the order). Studies use 10–12 g of essential amino acids; servings counted to 10 g.
| Product | Per serving | Servings to reach it | Form |
|---|---|---|---|
| InnovaPharm Recover EAA | 14.4 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| BulkSupplements.com EAA Powder | 10 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Dymatize All9 Amino | 10 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| GNC Beyond Raw Precision Amino | 9.88 g | 1 or less | Powders |
| Evogen Amino K.E.M. | 8.5 g | 1.2 at once | Powders |
| NutraBio Alpha EAA | 8 g | 1.2 at once | Powders |
| NutraBio EAA Pure (this product) | 7.84 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| Nutricost EAA Powder | 7.84 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| Nutrex Research EAA + Hydration | 7.74 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| FINAFLEX EAA | 7.53 g | 1.3 at once | Powders |
| Jacked Factory EAA Surge | 6.7 g | 1.5 at once | Powders |
| Ghost Amino | 5 g | 2 at once | Powders |
| EA Enhanced EAA+ | 4.88 g | 2.1 at once | Powders |
| Kion Aminos | 4.83 g | 2.1 at once | Powders |
| Thorne Amino Complex | 3.82 g | 2.6 at once | Powders |
| Double Wood Essential Amino Acids | 968 mg | 10.3 at once | Capsules |
| BodyHealth Perfect Amino | Not stated | — | Tablets |
| Cellucor Alpha Amino | Not stated | — | Powders |
| Optimum Nutrition Essential Amino Energy | Not stated | — | Powders |
| PEScience Amino IV | Not stated | — | Powders |
Where the reference doses come from
- Essential Amino Acids, 10–12 g: Jäger et al., 2017; Kerksick et al., 2018.
- The amino-acid balance: the adult requirement pattern in WHO/FAO/UNU, 2007, Table 23.
- Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 332131, including its servings a day.
For a supplement taken as one dose we judge one serving, and show the most the label allows in a day. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.