Bucked Up · Pre-workout

Is Bucked Up Pre-Workout underdosed?

1 scoop = 10.4 g30 scoopsLabel as of 25 Jun 2025 · NIH DSLD
Verdict

Below research dose on 2 of 3 key ingredients.

Beta-Alanine and Caffeine are below the amounts studies use. Caffeine is below 3 mg/kg at 75 kg.

Effective dose
1
Below research dose
4
Hidden in a blend
0
Too much
0

Ingredient by ingredient

Per scoop · bodyweight 75 kg (default)
  • Vitamin B12 (Methylcobalamin)Per scoop 100 mcgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: a vitamin or mineral. We grade a pre-workout’s ingredients against exercise studies; vitamins and minerals are graded only on their own supplement pages.

  • SodiumPer scoop 36 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 36 mg. Not graded: on its own the sodium in a serving says little, because what counts is the drink it makes. Electrolyte products are judged on the sodium per litre once mixed as the label directs (0.5–0.7 g per litre, AIS).

  • L-CitrullineLabel: Citrulline Malate [2:1]Per scoop 4 gStudies 4–5.33 gEffective doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 4 g; studies use 4–5.33 g.

    ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

  • Beta-AlaninePer scoop 2 gStudies 3.2–6.4 g/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 2 g; studies use 3.2–6.4 g/day. Beta-Alanine works through daily use over weeks; a lower amount still builds up, just more slowly.

  • CaffeineLabel: Caffeine AnhydrousPer scoop 200 mgStudies 3–6 mg/kgBelow research doseEvidence: Strong

    Contains 200 mg (2.7 mg/kg at 75 kg); studies use 3–6 mg/kg.

  • Alpha-GPCLabel: AlphaSize (Alpha-Glycerylphosphorylcholine)Per scoop 200 mgStudies 250–600 mg/dayBelow research doseEvidence: Weak

    Contains 200 mg; studies use 250–600 mg/day. Trials gave it daily, for weeks.

  • TaurinePer scoop 100 mgStudies 1–6 gBelow research doseEvidence: Moderate

    Contains 100 mg; studies use 1–6 g.

  • Himalayan Rock Salt (Trace Minerals)Per scoop 100 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • Deer Antler Velvet ExtractPer scoop 50 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

  • AstraGinLabel: AstraGin (Astragalus, Panax notoginseng)Per scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Contains 25 mg. Not graded: added to help the body absorb other ingredients; it has no dose of its own to judge.

  • ActiGin (Panax notoginseng, Rosa roxburghii)Per scoop 25 mgStudies Not setNot gradedEvidence: Not graded

    Not graded: we have no research dose for it from exercise studies.

Use “Check it for your dose” to see this table for your own scoops and bodyweight. Only caffeine is dosed per kilogram in the studies we cite; the other research doses are fixed amounts, so your weight doesn't change them.

How many scoops would it take?

To reach the low end of the research dose for each underdosed ingredient.

Beta-Alanine to 3.2 g
1.6 scoops
brings 320 mg caffeine
Caffeine to 225 mg
1.1 scoops
brings 225 mg caffeine

Where the reference doses come from

  1. Alpha-GPC, 250–600 mg/day: Bellar et al., 2015Marcus et al., 2017.
  2. Beta-Alanine, 3.2–6.4 g/day: Harris et al., 2006Hobson et al., 2012Trexler et al., 2015.
  3. Caffeine, 3–6 mg/kg: Guest et al., 2021.
  4. L-Citrulline, 4–5.33 g: Gough et al., 2021Vårvik et al., 2021.
  5. Taurine, 1–6 g: Deng et al., 2025Waldron et al., 2018.
  6. Daily caffeine reference, 400 mg: US FDA, Spilling the Beans.
  7. Label data: National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Dietary Supplement Label Database, 2026. https://dsld.od.nih.gov/. Label 328424.

Assumptions used on this page: ASSUMPTION: "2:1" is read as a weight ratio (2 parts L-citrulline to 1 part malic acid), so 2/3 of the stated weight is counted as L-citrulline. Applied only when the label does not state the citrulline amount itself. If 2:1 were a molar ratio the share would be about 72% (2 x 175.19 / (2 x 175.19 + 134.09)); the weight reading gives the lower citrulline figure.

Methodology 1.11. Read the full methodology or the corrections log.