Energy drinks · 5-hour Energy
How much caffeine is in 5-hour Energy?
A 1.93 fl oz shot of 5-hour Energy Regular Strength has 200 mg of caffeine, as 5-hour Energy states it on its own US website.
Checked 28 Oct 2026 on 5hourenergy.com (the label image). Across the 2 5-hour Energy lines and sizes we checked: 200–230 mg per container.
One shot at 75 kg: studies of caffeine and exercise use 3–6 mg per kg in one dose (225–450 mg at 75 kg). It's 50% of the FDA's 400 mg a day.
Every 5-hour Energy line and size
Highest caffeine first. Open a row's flavours to see which ones share its caffeine.
| Caffeine level | One at your weight (75 kg) | Label source | |||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Extra Strength1.93 fl oz shot (57 mL)34 flavoursBerry, Grape, Watermelon, Tropical Burst, Strawberry Watermelon, Strawberry Banana, Peach Mango, Sour Apple, Cherry, Blue Raspberry, Caramel Apple, Jelly Donut, Boston Cream Donut, Firework Freeze, Red Licorice, Cotton Candy, Fruity Rainbow, Birthday Cake (Confetti Craze), Spicy Cinco De Mango, Cranberry Lime, Hawaiian Breeze, Tidal Twist, Pumpkin Spice, Peppermint Mocha, Mock Melon Brew, Ultimate Citrus, Gingerbread Snap, Transfusion, Ghoulish Grape (Halloween Variety Pack only), Cobweb Candy (Halloween Variety Pack only), Fright-Fetti (Halloween Variety Pack only), Candy Cauldron (Halloween Variety Pack only), Raspberry Sorbet (Candy Cane Variety Pack only), Frosty Float (Candy Cane Variety Pack only) | 230 mg | 119.2 | 57% | 1.7 shots | High | Below research doseIn the research range400 mg or moreWithin your 225–450 mg range | 5hourenergy.comchecked 28 Oct 2026 |
Regular Strength1.93 fl oz shot (57 mL)4 flavoursBerry, Grape, Pomegranate, Watermelon | 200 mg | 103.6 | 50% | 2.0 shots | High | Below research doseIn the research range400 mg or more89% of your 225–450 mg range | 5hourenergy.comchecked 28 Oct 2026 |
Some amounts were read off 5-hour Energy's label images and are still being checked against the can.
Your bodyweight
Caffeine studies use 3–6 mg per kg in one dose. Enter your weight and the table shows what one can or shot is for you. Worked out in your browser; nothing is sent or stored.
Adding coffee or a pre-workout? Use the full caffeine calculator.
Where the caffeine comes from
Caffeine sources on the label, as printed:
- Caffeine
- 5-hour Energy Extra Strength, 1.93 fl oz shot: total 230 mg
- 5-hour Energy Regular Strength, 1.93 fl oz shot: total 200 mg
Compared with pre-workouts
Pre-workouts with 175–225 mg of caffeine in one serving, within 25 mg of 5-hour Energy Regular Strength, 1.93 fl oz shot, in our ranking by dose.
- Huge Supplements Wrecked 188 mg per serving
- Jocko Fuel Pre-Workout 200 mg per serving
- Transparent Labs BULK 200 mg per serving
- RAW Nutrition CBUM Essential Pre 200 mg per serving
- Thorne Advanced Pre-Workout 200 mg per serving
What else is on the label
Amounts per container, as printed. An ingredient is graded only where we have a research dose for it; vitamins and minerals aren't graded here.
5-hour Energy Extra Strength, 1.93 fl oz shot (10 more)
| Ingredient | Per shot | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Niacin (as Niacinamide) | 40 mg | Not graded |
| Vitamin b6 (as Pyridoxine Hydrochloride) | 40 mg | Not graded |
| Vitamin B12 (as Cyanocobalamin) | 500 mcg | Not graded |
| Energy Blend | 2 g | Not graded |
| Taurine | In a blend, amount not disclosed | Hidden in a blend |
| Glucuronic Acid (as or from glucuronolactone) | Not stated | Not graded |
| Malic Acid | Not stated | Not graded |
| N-Acetyl L Tyrosine | Not stated | Not graded |
| L-Phenylalanine | In a blend, amount not disclosed | Hidden in a blend |
| Citicoline | Not stated | Not graded |
Sold with Supplement Facts (a dietary supplement).
5-hour Energy Regular Strength, 1.93 fl oz shot (10 more)
| Ingredient | Per shot | Verdict |
|---|---|---|
| Niacin (as Niacinamide) | 30 mg | Not graded |
| Vitamin b6 (as Pyridoxine Hydrochloride) | 40 mg | Not graded |
| Vitamin B12 (as Cyanocobalamin) | 500 mcg | Not graded |
| Energy Blend | 1.87 g | Not graded |
| Taurine | In a blend, amount not disclosed | Hidden in a blend |
| Glucuronic Acid (as or from glucuronolactone) | Not stated | Not graded |
| Malic Acid | Not stated | Not graded |
| N-Acetyl L Tyrosine | Not stated | Not graded |
| L-Phenylalanine | In a blend, amount not disclosed | Hidden in a blend |
| Citicoline | Not stated | Not graded |
Sold with Supplement Facts (a dietary supplement).
Questions
How much caffeine is in a shot of 5-hour Energy?
A 1.93 fl oz shot of 5-hour Energy Regular Strength has 200 mg. The 5-hour Energy lines we checked range from 200 to 230 mg.
Which 5-hour Energy has the most caffeine?
5-hour Energy Extra Strength, 1.93 fl oz shot: 230 mg.
How much caffeine is in 5-hour Energy per fl oz?
103.6–119.2 mg per fl oz, worked out from each label's caffeine and the container's stated volume.
How many shots of 5-hour Energy Regular Strength add up to 400 mg?
2.0 shots of the 1.93 fl oz size. The FDA cites 400 mg a day as an amount not generally linked to negative effects for most healthy adults.
Where does 5-hour Energy's caffeine come from?
The labels print this caffeine source: Caffeine.